Archive for Saturday, January 29, 2005

Scouting news

January 29, 2005


Cub Scout Pack 3370, chartered to the Deerfield School PTA, had its annual Pinewood Derby Jan. 22 at the Plymouth Congregational Church in Lawrence.

Overall pack winners were: Josh Kallenbach, first; Dan Jasperson, second; Tyler Robbins, third; and Logan Cherland, best design.

The Tiger den winners were: Josh Kallenbach, first; Logan Dedloff, second; Matthew Meseke, third; and Seth Winchester, best design. Wolf Den winners were: Joseph Miller, first; Brendon Phillps, second; Taylor Tomoszewski, third; and David Neff, best design. Winners in Bear Den 1 were: Logan Cherland, first; Tyler Robbins, second; Aaron Simon, third; and Logan Cherland, best design. The Bear Den 2 results were: Michael Edman, first; Nick Pippert, second; Stephen Fulton, third; and Hunter Dedloff, best design. Winners in the Webelos Den were: Jamie Braden, first; Dan Jasperson, second; Tyler Hanson, third; and Dan Kasperson, best design.

Cubmaster Rick Werner presented awards and patches to the Pinewood Derby participants.


Cub Scout Pack 3057, chartered to the Lawrence Catholic School PTO, had its annual Pinewood Derby Jan. 8 at St. John the Evangelist Catholic Church Social Hall.

Tiger Den 6 winners were: Michel DeGrassi, first; Jared Lange, second; Luke Turnbull, third; Michael DeGrassi, coolest car; and Luke Turnbull, most unique car.

Tiger Den 5 winners were: Aidan Schaplowsky, first; Ben Witte, second; Sam Witte, third; Ben Witte, coolest car; and Brandon Bunting, most unique car.

Wolf Den winners were: Kyle Vogelsang, first; Jack Powell, second; and Elias Schneck, third; August Murphy-Beach, coolest car; and Eric Glogau, most unique car.

Bear Den winners were: Luke Oberrieder, first; Clayton Pfeifer, second; Jakob Walter, third; Thomas Peterson, coolest car; and Simon Elwell, most unique car.

First-year Webelos Den winners were: Jack Lange, first; Nathan Shobe, second; John Abney and Franklin Brou, tie for third; John Abney, coolest car; and Kolby Murray, most unique car.

Second-year Webelos Den winners were: Lucas Vogelsang, first; Jacob Pfeifer, second; Brady Murrish, third; Jonathan Fitzgerald and Lucas Vogelsang, tie for coolest car; and Jacob Pfeifer, most unique car.

Winners at the Pack championship level were: Luke Oberrieder, first; Michael DeGrassi, second; and Kyle Vogelsang, third.

Winners in the open class family races were: Hannah Oberrieder, first; Reed Pfeifer, second; and Sydney Vogelsang, third. Jason Turnbull and the Fitzgerald family received the Coolest Car Award. Jason Turnbull also received an award for having the most unique car.


Boy Scout Troop 59, sponsored by the First Presbyterian Church of Lawrence, went skiing Jan. 17 at Snow Creek in Weston, Mo.

Thirty-seven Scouts and leaders attended and had a "Camp In" when they returned to Lawrence.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.