Archive for Wednesday, January 26, 2005

Ballots fill up for area elections

January 26, 2005


Candidates who met Tuesday's filing deadline for races in neighboring counties include:

Area city elections


Mayor -- Chris Garcia; Joseph B. Nick Sr.

Council -- Robert "Bob" Moore; James P. Washington; Terry Thomas; Rayburn "Keith" Sifford; David Povilonis

There will be a primary in the city council race to eliminate one candidate.


Council -- Robert Nickle; Steve Gumm; Cecil E. Vinyard; Jim Truesdell; Jason Ward

There are three Tonganoxie City Council positions up for grabs.


Mayor -- Georgiana Smith

Council -- Charles Dwayne Call


Mayor -- James R. Schonherr

Council-- Gerald D. Ping; Gary Royer

There are two spots open on city council.


Mayor -- Andy Surritt

Council -- Betty Ann Anderson; Kevin Bell; Robert Budden; Randy Daniels; Harold Gore; Sherri Hittle; Marilyn Johnson; Bill Rodecap; Gary Quiett

The Meriden City Council is expanding to seven from five council members. Five of the seat are up for grabs.

There is no primary in this race, but in the general election the top three vote-getters will serve four year terms and the fourth- and fifth-place vote-getters will serve two year terms.


Mayor -- Herman Ackmann; David Schneider; Edward "Pete" Scott

Council -- Troy Frost; Michael A. Henning; Roy McCullough; Matt Smith; Roger Whaley

The city of Nortonville passed an ordinance to not hold a primary election. The mayor candidates all will duke out their campaigns for the general election in April. Additionally, there are two city council seats open.


Council -- Michael Boyd; Thomas D. Bryant; Lisa M. Cross; A.W. "Rocky" Himpel; Shelly Hummelgaard

There are three seats open on the Oskaloosa City Council.


Commission -- Deborah Henningsen; Raquel "Rocky" Fleer-Husted; Blake Jorgensen; Mark R. Retzer, Sr.; Kenneth Woods

There are three positions open on the Ottawa City Commission.


Mayor -- Scott Gibson; Terry C. Marsh

Council -- Bradley A. Ayers; Elke Lassiter; Kirk W. Vernon; Marlin Youngquist

There are two seats open on the Ozawkie City Council.


Council-- Richard A. "Dick" Annis; Marcie Rae Cottrell; Joanna Madorin; Jay Skelton

There are three seats available on the Perry City Council.

Valley Falls

Mayor -- Robert H. Zieg

Council -- James V. Durand

There are two positions open on the Valley Falls City Council.


Council -- James L. Clark; Jane E. Weishaar

There are three positions open on the Winchester City Council.


Council -- Jeanine Berrier; Marvin Hutchinson; Jerald Owings; Kurt Taylor

There are three positions open on the Wellsville City Council.

Area school districts

Valley Falls

Position 4 -- Laverne W. Clark, Valley Falls; Micah Gelatt, Valley Falls

Position 5 -- Charles E. Bartlett, Valley Falls; John D. Shipley, Jr., Valley Falls

Position 6 -- Larry Martin, Valley Falls

Jefferson County North

Position 4 -- Carletia Domann, Nortonville; Sharon Porter, Nortonville

Position 5 -- Keith A. Ostrander, Winchester

Position 6 -- William R. Perry Jr., Winchester

Jefferson County West

Position 4 -- David Jolly, Ozawkie

Position 5 -- G. Daniel Harden, Meriden

Position 6 -- Bette J. Lopez, Ozawkie; Sandra Mumaw, Ozawkie


Position 4 -- Herb Dissinger, Oskaloosa

Position 5 -- Alice "Lou" Jeffers, Oskaloosa; Tracy D. Newell, Oskaloosa

Position 6 -- Roy T. Artman, Oskaloosa


Position 4 -- Douglas Walbridge, McLouth

Position 5 -- Donald L. Edmonds, McLouth

Position 6 -- Mitchel Campbell, McLouth


Position 4 -- Kevin Wade, Grantville

Position 5 -- Linda Baranski, Lecompton

Position 6 -- Kevin Morgison, Perry


Position 3 -- Susan D. Rader

Position 4 -- Ron Bloss

Position 5 -- Rob Pearce

Position 6 -- Ardith M. Bell


Three at-large positions -- Jeanette Lowry; Lawrence Lyman; Sean Powell; Mike Sipple; Marge Stevens


Position 4 -- Randy E. Cunningham, Basehor

Position 5 -- Patrick A. Jeannin, Bonner Springs

Position 6 -- Paul David Smith, Linwood; Gary Johnson, Linwood


Position 4 -- Darlyn Hansen, Tonganoxie

Position 5 -- Kay Smith, Tonganoxie

Position 6 -- Bob Dehoff, Tonganoxie; Brian Huseman, Tonganoxie

Commenting has been disabled for this item.