Archive for Thursday, December 1, 2005

Young, Slay claim honors

Texas QB, Tech safety Big 12 players of year

December 1, 2005


— The fourth-quarter touchdown pass against Ohio State. The first win over Oklahoma since 2000. The second-half rescue against Oklahoma State.

Whatever No. 2 Texas needed this season, quarterback Vince Young delivered in dazzling and spectacular fashion.

When the 2005 season started, conventional wisdom was that the Longhorns would go as far as Young could take them. Eleven wins later, they still are on the move, playing Saturday for the Big 12 title. Another victory sends them back to California for a second straight Rose Bowl, only this time with the national championship on the line.

"We're so close," Young said. "We can smell the Rose right now."

On Wednesday, the junior quarterback was a unanimous selection as the Associated Press' Big 12 offensive player of the year in voting by 20 reporters who regularly cover the league for newspapers in the seven states with conference teams.

Texas Tech safety Dwayne Slay was selected as the conference's defensive player of the year. Oklahoma State freshman running back Mike Hamilton was picked as the league offensive newcomer of the year. Oklahoma junior defensive end C.J. Ah You was named the defensive newcomer of the year. The all-conference teams will be released today.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.