Archive for Saturday, April 16, 2005

Scouting News

April 16, 2005


Cub Scout Pack 3370, chartered to the Deerfield School PTA, had its annual Blue and Gold banquet Feb. 28 at the Plymouth Congregational Church.

Cubmasters Scott Braden and Rick Werner presided during the ceremonies.

The pack paid special tribute to Phoenix DeLaConcepcion, who completed 15 Webelos activity pins, earned the Webelos Badge, the Compass Emblem and two Compass Point Pins. He also received the Arrow of Light Award, the highest achievement in Cub Scouting. Phoenix was presented with the award by his Webelos den leaders, Mark Jasperson and Scott Braden. After receiving the award, he participated in a bridging ceremony to Boy Scout Troop 55. Phoenix is a fifth-grader at Deerfield School and is the son of Jonathan and Kenzie DeLaConcepcion.


Cub Scout Pack 3370, chartered to the Deerfield PTA, participated in a service project April 2 with Brownie Scouts, from Deerfield. They cleaned up the "Habitat for Learning," also known as the Deerfield Butterfly Garden.

Cub Scouts who participated were Jamie Braden, Tyler Hanson, Dan Jasperson, Nathan Lassley and Nathan Porter, Webelos; Lucas Werner, Alex Houston, Hunter Dedloff, Stephen Fulton and John Bennett, Bears; Blake Murray, Kenneth Palmer and Alex Doktor, Wolves; Logan Dedloff, Josh Kallenbach, Ben Novorr, Chris Blevins, Seth Winchester, Matthew Meske, Lane Nations and Eli McCleary, Tigers. Tiger Den leader Wayne Dedloff helped coordinate the project.


Boy Scout Troop 53, chartered to Christ Community Church of Lawrence, spent April 8-10 at Camp Bromelsick under the leadership of Tim Muetz, senior patrol leader. It was the first campout for new Troop 53 scouts who completed rank requirements for nature and the environment. New scouts attending were: Max Butterfield, Dawson Conway, BJ Hambelton, Nick Henriquez, Alex McKinsey, Dylan Orth, Eric Peterson, Ryan Shulteis, Trenton Shambaugh and Patrick Shields. The new scout group also includes Calvin Abbot and Josh Ideus. Other scouts attending the campout included: David Teefey, Greg Muetz, Zach Schmidt, Ryan Pennington, John Chumbley, Zach Chumbley, Joey Cunningham, Justin Saathoff, Jordan Yulich, Evan Mielke, Zak Stremel, Nick Chance and Alex Webster.

The scouts were accompanied by adult leaders Eric Muetz, Mitch Yulich, Doug Stremel, Joe Cunningham, Brian Chumbley, Jim Mielke, Kip Grosshans and Roger Reeder.


Two crews from Boy Scout Troop 53, chartered to Christ Community Church of Lawrence, spent March 19-26 at the Florida National High Adventure Sea Base. One crew participated in coral reef sailing. While sailing the Scouts participated in snorkeling and deep sea fishing. Members of the crew were Jordan Yulich, Zak Stremel, Alex Webster, Nathan Ideus, David Teefey and Michael Bennet. David Teefey won the fishing contest, and Nathan Ideus won the limbo competition. Adult leaders who accompanied them were Doug Stremel and Hamilton Lewis.

The other crew participated in the Out Island Adventure. This group kayaked to Big Munson Island, where they participated in snorkeling, deep sea fishing and kayaking. Members of the crew were Joey Berger, Chance Steele, Steven May and Devon Griffin. They were accompanied by adult leaders Carey Berger and Andrew Schmidt.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.