Archive for Friday, September 10, 2004

KU, KSU professors win Higuchi awards

September 10, 2004


Four Kansas professors have been awarded 2004 Higuchi/Endowment Research Achievement Awards from Kansas University.

The $10,000 stipend for research have been given since 1981, when Takeru Higuchi, a chemistry professor, and his wife, Aya, created the program. The awards are named for former officers in the KU Endowment Association.

Faculty at all Kansas regents institutions are eligible.

This year's winners, announced Thursday at Faculty/Staff Convocation, were:

  • Michael Soares, professor of pathology and laboratory medicine at the KU Medical Center, the Dolph Simons Award in biomedical sciences.
  • Bill Tuttle, KU professor of American studies, the Balfour Jeffery Research Award in humanities and social sciences.
  • Akira Yamamoto, KU professor of anthropology and linguistics, the Irvin Youngberg Research Award in applied sciences.
  • C. Lewis Cocke, professor of physics at Kansas State University, the Olin Petefish Award in basic sciences.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.