Archive for Saturday, November 20, 2004

Club news

November 20, 2004


The Lawrence Mentor's Duplicate Bridge Club played host to an American Contract Bridge League sanctioned sectional tournament at club level game Nov. 10.

Seven and a half tables participated in a stratified game that followed a Mitchell movement. Don Brennaman directed the game.

Playing the North-South cards, Jeff Nash and Judy Hildreth claimed first place in A and B. Harriett Olson and Mary Joyce took second in A and B and first in C. Betty Spalsbury and Bob Anderson were third in A and B and second in C.

Sitting East-West, Jo Andersen and Bill Hamilton swept first place in A, B and C. Mary Beth Treece and Don Brennaman placed second in A, B and C. Helen Huffman and Bob Huffman took third in A, B and C.


The Lawrence Duplicate Bridge Club met Monday. Ten and a half tables competed in a stratified game following a Mitchell movement.

Virginia Seaver directed the game.

Playing the North-South cards, Terry Tolar, who earned Life Master status, and Harry Shaffer finished first in A. Larry Bodle and Kent McCullough were second. Patt Radford and John Hickey placed third. Lynn Hui and Judy Bevan took fourth in A and first in B and C. Donna Munson and Pat Lombardi were second in B. Carol Ball and Phyllis Brownlee took second in C.

Competing East-West, Donna Johnson and Dave Piro finished first in A. Mona Bell and Julia Brooks were second. Grant Sutton and Ann Thompson were third in A and first in B and C. Virginia Seaver and Paul Heitzman were fourth in A. Sally Taylor and Shirlie Vaughn placed fifth in A and second in B. Betty Walston and Gladys Dight were third in B and second in C.


University Bridge Club announced the winners of its Nov. 13 game.

Hosts were Hank and Dottie Miller and Leonard and Mary Fleske.

Blue winners were George Bocquin, first; Carl Schaake, second; Paul Jordan, third; Don Whitaker, fourth; and Virginia Williams, fifth.

Pink winners were Alice Akins, first; Jean Whitaker, second; Jean Etherton, third; Hazel Stellmacher, fourth; and Marian Davis, fifth.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.