Archive for Wednesday, November 3, 2004

Jeter wins first Gold Glove

Tigers catcher Rodriguez snares 11th award

November 3, 2004


— Derek Jeter's diving grab caught the attention of all of baseball and perhaps earned him his first American League Gold Glove.

The New York Yankees shortstop won the honor Tuesday, taking over from teammate Alex Rodriguez, who had won it two straight years before moving to third base this year.

In the 12th inning of a game against Boston on July 1, Jeter sprinted after Trot Nixon's pop down the left-field line with runners at second and third. He made the catch in fair territory, went sprawling into the crowd and was stopped by the hard-backed seats. He was taken to a hospital because of a bloodied chin, red-and-swollen cheek and bruised shoulder, and New York went on to win in the 13th inning.

Toronto outfielder Vernon Wells also was a first-time winner.

In his first season with Detroit, catcher Ivan Rodriguez won his 11th Gold Glove, his first since 2001 with Texas and the most for any catcher. Johnny Bench won the award 10 times.

Rangers pitcher Kenny Rogers, who turns 40 on Nov. 10, won for the third time, the first since 2002.

Oakland third baseman Eric Chavez, Minnesota center fielder Torii Hunter and Seattle right fielder Ichiro Suzuki all won the award for the fourth straight season.

Mariners second baseman Bret Boone won his third straight Gold Glove for the Mariners, his fourth overall, and Anaheim first baseman Darin Erstad won his third award, his first since 2002.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.