Archive for Sunday, June 27, 2004

Hornaday claims Busch win

June 27, 2004


— Ron Hornaday Jr. won the Alan Kulwicki 250 Saturday night at the Milwaukee Mile, taking the lead with seven laps to go after rallying from a lap down.

Hornaday passed Shane Hmiel on the inside, ending Hmiel's chance for his first Busch Series victory.

Hornaday started in the 10th position and dropped a lap behind when the first caution flag came out while he was in the pits.

The two-time Craftsman Truck Series champion worked his way through the field and managed to steal the race from Hmiel and David Stremme, who exchanged the lead several times. They led a total of 170 laps before fading at the end.

Eight racers led the 250-lap event -- run under the lights for the first time -- on the 1.032-mile track.

It was Hornaday's fourth career Busch Series victory and first this season.

Stremme finished second, followed by Jason Keller and Hmiel.

Stremme was leading with 30 laps to go when he bobbled and slowed, allowing Hmiel to pass. Stremme won the pole position earlier in the day with a time of 29.375 seconds, which broke the track qualifying record of 29.394 set by Kevin Harvick in June 2001.

But he led the race for just one lap before being passed by Kyle Busch. He dropped several more spots before regaining the lead by passing Hmiel on the 144th lap. Hmiel's second pit stop moved him ahead of Stremme briefly, but Stremme passed him again with about 50 laps to go.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.