Archive for Saturday, July 24, 2004

Around and about

July 24, 2004


Mark and Amy Schmidt-Cowardin, Baldwin, announce the birth of their son, Maxwell Henry Cowardin, born June 1, 2004, in Lawrence. Maternal grandparents are Floyd and Sue Schmidt, Baldwin. Paternal grandparents are Larry and Rita Cowardin, Joplin, Mo. Great-grandparents are Moleta Schmidt, Baldwin, and Marie Cowardin, Lamar, Mo.

  • An open house celebrating the 80th birthday of Norman Bartlett, Lawrence, will be at 6:30 p.m. today at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, 3411 Iowa. Family and friends are invited to attend.

  • Jeff Brown has received a Fulbright grant for study and research during the 2004-05 academic year. He is a doctoral candidate in English literature at the University of Pennsylvania. Brown will travel to Barbados and Trinidad to study post-World War II West Indian literature and its relationship to British imperialism and Caribbean nationalism. He is a Lawrence High School graduate and the son of Robert and Sharon Brown, Lawrence.

  • Vickie Randel received the Four Avenues of Service Citation from the Lawrence Rotary Club on July 12. Randel served as club president in 2002-2003 and has distinguished herself in service to the club and community. The award was created by Rotary International.

  • Sarah Shapiro has been named to the merit list at Kenyon College, Gambier, Ohio, for the spring 2004 semester by earning at least a 3.45 grade-point average. The Lawrence High School graduate is the daughter of Sidney and Joyce Shapiro, Lawrence.

  • Several area residents made honors during the spring 2004 semester at Drake University, Des Moines, Iowa.

Lena Fox and Brianna Orton, Lawrence, made the dean's list by earning at least a 3.5 grade-point average.

The following students made the president's list by receiving a 4.0 GPA: Brett Myrick, Baldwin; and David Allen, Adam Beilgard, Rebecca Lysen and Marika Spurgeon, Lawrence.

  • Johnson County Community College has announced area students who made honors during the spring 2004 semester.

Students who made the president's honor roll by earning a 4.0 grade-point average were Lindsey Burgess, Patrick Hinshaw and Clayton Patterson, Baldwin; Kelly Hall, Lindsey Hughes, Daniel Landes and Michael Rendzia, De Soto; Elizabeth Helweg, Eudora; Michael Balding, Lecompton; Cory Chermok, Perry; Amy Brest and Stephanie Larson, Tonganoxie; Robert Barnhill, Wellsville; and Sheri Birch, Melissa Browning, Nina Chandlee, Caroline Eddinger, Joshua Erbmann, Bryan Kuder, Jeffrey Lee, Tanya Lenzi, Amy Lewis, Bill Nonnast II, Luke Paul, Jennifer Proctor, Hanna Randolph, Emmaleigh Reeves, Joshua Spradlin, Stephanie Tacker, Chau Trinh, Meredith Wales and Robert Wempe, Lawrence.

Students who made the dean's honor roll by earning at least a 3.5 GPA were Rachel Frye and Cynthia Phillips, Baldwin; Rinda Cooper, Erik Johnson and Kara Lackner, Basehor; Chad Falke, De Soto; James Blades, Mark DeArmond and Monica Stone, Eudora; Ashley Willcott, Linwood; Tara Boswell, Angelena Burgoon and Tinika Kirk, Ottawa; Melissa Humble, Perry; Jennifer Dunlap, Patrick Johnson, Laura Korb and Brandon Smith, Tonganoxie; and Michael Bangs, Dominique Box, Joseph Cirese, Melia Clark, Victoria Cox, Ruslan Dunduchenko, Jeffrey Fagan, Justin Haskett, Christopher Hendrickson, Ryan Huggins, Jennifer Jaros, Matthew Khomsi, Aniela Kiekel, Hauna Leiker, Kristen Lockwood, Joy Ludwig, Ariel Ludwig, Thomas Miller, Cindy Neuenschwander, Christopher Purvis, Jamie Raven, Jamie Rusk, Julie Shields, Phillip Smetak, Emelia Stephens, Chris Swindle, Molly Tye, Eric Waier II, Derick Wallace, Kathleen Walsh, Scott Weber, Laura Welder, Tristan Westhal and Jeremy Winfrey, Lawrence.

  • Mark Loewen, Lawrence, received a degree in English from Cornell College, Mount Vernon, Iowa, during commencement exercises May 29.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.