Archive for Sunday, July 11, 2004

Compact hard on violators

July 11, 2004


Missouri hunting, fishing and trapping permit suspensions carry a lot more weight these days thanks to the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact.

The compact is coalition of 18 state wildlife agencies created to help enforce restrictions placed on people who break wildlife laws.

Members of the compact are Missouri, Arizona, California, Colorado, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.

Compact states honor other member states' hunting or fishing privilege revocations.

Last year, 1,873 people lost their ability to hunt or fish in the 18 Compact member states. Altogether, 3,726 people have had suspensions under the agreement since the Compact was formed in 1998.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.