Archive for Friday, February 27, 2004

LMH president to lead chamber

Group names new board members

February 27, 2004


The president and chief executive of Lawrence Memorial Hospital has been elected to become the next chairman of the Lawrence Chamber of Commerce board of directors.

Gene Meyer will serve a one-year term as chairman, beginning April 1, after serving as chairman-elect for the organization during 2003-2004. He takes over for Lawrence funeral home operator Larry McElwain, who served one year as chairman.

The chamber board also selected Shirley Martin-Smith, president of Lawrence-based Martin-Smith Personnel Services, to serve as chairwoman-elect, which means she will become the chamber chairwoman in 2005-2006.

The board also elected one new officer and eight new directors to serve on the board. Ted Haggart, Douglas County Bank, was selected to serve as the vice chairman of membership for the chamber.

The new directors are Pat Flavin, Lawrence Realty Associates; Ralph Gage, The World Company; Bennett Griffin, Griffin Technologies and the Lawrence Technology Assn.; Sue Hack, Lawrence city commissioner; Dave Loch, Progress Vanguard; Maria Martin, Downtown Lawrence Inc. and Southwest & More; Karen Schuyler, Astaris; and Tim Van Leer, Lied Center.

Members who are leaving the board in April are Donna Bell, Brandon Woods Retirement Community; Ernie Cummings, Kizer-Cummings Jewelers; Keith Folkmann, Sauer-Danfoss; Kelvin Heck, Grubb & Ellis/The Winbury Group; Dwayne Peaslee, retired; and Judy Wright, Kansas University Endowment Association.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.