Archive for Wednesday, August 4, 2004

Incumbents fare well in area

August 4, 2004


Most incumbents in area county government races fared well in Tuesday's primary elections.

In Jefferson County, incumbent Republican Treasurer Mary F. Underwood rebuffed challenger Tim Hood, 1,663 votes to 623 votes. There are no Democratic candidates, virtually assuring Underwood a new term.

Travis J. Oliver, the incumbent Republican 2nd District County Commissioner was defeated by challenger David Christy. Christy gathered in 465 votes, while Oliver had 277. Christy will face Democrat Kevin D. Kuenzi in November. Kuenzi did not have a primary opponent.

In the 3rd County Commission District, Republican LaVerne W. Clark, with 415 votes, defeated Donna J. Bates. Clark faces the lone Democrat and incumbent, Francis Grollmes, in November.

In Franklin County, Sheriff Craig Davis, with 3,305 votes, moved toward another term by defeating his challenger in the Republican primary, Rick Croucher, who received only 516 votes. There are no Democratic candidates.

It was a different story in the race for Franklin County attorney, however. Incumbent Republican John Dowell lost to an assistant prosecutor in his office, Heather R. Jones. Jones earned 1,993 votes to Dowell's 1,759 votes.

Leavenworth County's next sheriff will be its current undersheriff, Dave Zoellner. He picked up 2,710 votes, defeating former Leavenworth Police officer Gene "Geno" Tomrell, who had 1,160 votes. The current sheriff, Herb Nye, isn't seeking re-election.

In the 3rd District County Commission race, Dean Oroke topped the field of six Republican candidates. He will face the lone Democrat, Jerry Wilburn, in November.

Republican Clyde D. Graeber bested three other Republican candidates in the 2nd Commission District.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.