Archive for Thursday, October 23, 2003


October 23, 2003



NAACP members elect new officers

The Lawrence chapter of the NAACP elected officers.

The officers are Janis Cobbs, president; Marian Brown, first vice president; Glen Walker, second vice president; Ursula Minor, secretary, and Al Ballard, treasurer.

Internal affairs officers also were elected. They are Sonya Johnson, Steve Robinson and Howard Walker. Elected to serve on the executive board were Margaret Arsenger, Lorie Robinson, Leonard Monroe and Sheila Hurst.

The elections were Thursday at the chapter's meeting place, St. Luke A.M.E. Church, 900 N.Y. Jesse Milan, a representative of the Kansas State Conference of the NAACP, presided over the election.

The officers will undergo training at a Nov. 13 meeting. They will be officially installed in December.

Gasoline prices

Pump Patrol seeks deals

The Journal-World has found a Lawrence-area gasoline price as low as $1.52 at Citgo, 2005 W. Ninth St. If you find a lower price, call 832-7154.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.