Archive for Sunday, November 16, 2003

Washington to be honored today

Hall of Fame to announce six inductees, including KU coach

November 16, 2003


— Kansas University coach Marian Washington and three other active collegiate coaches are among the six individuals to be inducted next year into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame.

The names of the six inductees officially will be announced today at the State Farm Women's Tip-off Classic at Purdue. The induction ceremony will be held in June 2004 at the hall located here.

Washington and North Carolina's Sylvia Hatchell are joined by North Dakota State coach Amy Ruley, Oregon coach Bev Smith, eight-time AAU All-American Lurlyne Greer Rogers and William L. "Bill" Wall, the first executive director of USA Basketball.

"This is a great mix of people who have been so integral to the growth of women's basketball at all levels," said Texas coach Jody Conradt, president of the hall's board of directors.

Washington is entering her 31st season at Kansas, which has been in 11 NCAA tournaments and has won seven conference titles and six conference tournament championships. A former player at West Chester State, Washington was one of the first black women to play on the U.S. national team in 1971.

She was the first black coach for the USA when she was an assistant on the gold medal-winning Olympic team in 1996.

Hatchell, who is beginning her 29th season as a collegiate coach, led North Carolina to the 1994 national championship. After the June induction, the hall will have 79 members.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.