Archive for Wednesday, November 5, 2003

Media disagree with coaches, tap Jayhawks to win Big 12 Conference again

November 5, 2003


For the first time in the seven-year history of the Big 12 Conference men's basketball preseason media polls, there is disagreement.

The Big 12 coaches picked Missouri, but the conference-area media chose defending champion Kansas University in a poll released by the league office Tuesday.

The media's choice for preseason player of the year is Missouri center Arthur Johnson. The coaches selected Texas Tech senior Andre Emmett who finished second in the media voting.

Other players who received media votes for preseason player of the year were Rickey Paulding of Missouri and the Kansas duo of Wayne Simien and Keith Langford. Johnson, Emmett, Paulding, Simien and Langford were the media's choice for preseason All-Big 12.

On the preseason coaches' poll, Texas senior James Thomas was a preseason first-team selection and Langford was not.

Preseason media newcomer of the year honors went to Missouri guard Jason Conley. Other players who received votes were Iowa State center Damion Staple, Kansas State forward Jeremiah Massey, Missouri guard Randy Pulley and the Oklahoma State duo of forward Tremaine Fuqua and guard Stevie Graham.

Oklahoma guard Drew Lavender is the media freshman of the year. Lavender edged Kansas center David Padgett in the voting. Lavender and Padgett were co-choices of the coaches. Other freshman of the year vote-getters were Kansas guard J.R. Giddens, the Kansas State duo of forward Cartier Martin and guard Dez Willingham and Missouri forward Linas Kleiza.

The media and coaches were different on the their top three selections in the championship race. The media went with Kansas, Missouri, and Texas while the coaches selected MU, Texas and KU. Both agreed on spots 4-12: Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Colorado, Texas Tech, Kansas State, Texas A&M;, Iowa State, Nebraska and Baylor.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.