Archive for Sunday, May 4, 2003

KU graduates win Chancellor awards

May 4, 2003


Nine students graduating from Kansas University this month will receive special honors from Chancellor Robert Hemenway.

KU this week announced winners of the Chancellor's Student Awards for their academic and leadership skills.

The students will be honored during a reception from 8:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. May 17 in the Kansas Room at the Kansas Union. Graduation ceremonies begin at 2:30 p.m. May 18.

The awards are selected from nominations gathered by a committee of students, faculty and staff.

The winners:

l Paige Isaacson, Salina, will receive the Donald K. Alderson Memorial Award.

Isaacson, who will graduate with a degree in business administration, plans to teach before entering law school.

At KU, she was president of the Hawk Nights planning team, held several offices at Watkins Scholarship Hall, was on the All Scholarship Hall Council and served as a student senator.

l Sahar Habibi, Wichita, and David C. Roby, Topeka, will receive the Class of 1913 Award.

Habibi, earning a degree in political science, will work toward a master's degree in comparative politics at the London School of Economics and Political Science this fall.

She has worked as a research assistant for the Middle East Research and Information Project and graduate program coordinator for the master's in international studies degree program. She has been a conversation leader at the Applied English Center.

Roby will earn degrees in mathematics and film studies. He has received a full-ride scholarship to attend the KU School of Law.

Roby was nominated by KU to compete in the Marshall scholarship competition and received an undergraduate research award for his film "Henon Mappings and Hypercubes."

He was president of the All Scholarship Hall Council and Stephenson Scholarship Hall. He also helped revive KU's Mathematics Club.

l Fouzia Haq, Kansas City, Mo., will receive the Alexis F. Dillard Student Involvement Award.

Haq, graduating in psychology and communication studies, was conference planner/facilitator for the Student Leadership Institute, program presenter at Stepping Stones leadership conference and planner/group leader at Blueprints Leadership Conference.

She was president of the Commission on the Status of Women, co-coordinator of Concerned, Active and Aware Students and president of Gertrude Sellards Pearson-Corbin Halls.

l Courtney Bates, Chicago, and Aramis Watson, Wichita, will receive the Rusty Leffel Concerned Student Award.

Bates, who will graduate in psychology and in human development and family life, plans to enter graduate school in clinical psychology.

She was president of Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority and Black Student Union, and was second vice president of Panhellenic Council.

Watson, a psychology major, plans to earn a master's degree in higher education. At KU, she was president of the Association of University Residence Halls, on-site coordinator of KU Leadershape and president of Hawk Nights.

She also coordinated the Homecoming parade and the Open House Union Carnival.

l Jennifer Huang, Wichita, will receive the Caryl K. Smith Student Leader Award.

Huang, graduating in film studies, was service coordinator for Rock Chalk Revue and was named Outstanding Greek Senior Woman in 2003. She has volunteered for several local organizations.

l Loren Malone, Senatobia, Miss., and Jonathan Ng, Leawood, will receive the Agnes Wright Strickland Award.

Malone, who will receive a degree in psychology, plans to attend medical school.

She was student body vice president, was on the Emily Taylor Women's Resource Center board, the Tuition Advisory Committee and the Multicultural Resource Center Task Force. She was vice president of Kappa Alpha Theta sorority and was a Hawks Night committee vice president.

She was named an Outstanding Greek Senior.

Ng served as student body president this year. He is receiving a degree in strategic communications and Spanish and plans to enter law school.

He also founded the pre-journalism club at KU and was also readers' representative for the University Daily Kansan.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.