Archive for Sunday, May 4, 2003


May 4, 2003


KU program honors McNair scholars

Kansas University officials last week honored five McNair scholars.

McNair scholarships, which are federally funded, go to first-generation college students who are low-income or are from under-represented minorities. They are named for Ronald E. McNair, the second black astronaut to fly in space, who was killed in the 1986 Challenger space shuttle explosion.

Those honored during a Thursday night program were Charles "Chad" Clarke III, a senior from Shawnee; Felicia Mitchell, a senior from Topeka; Heather Ryser, a senior from Delphos; Josephine Hart, a December 2002 graduate from Stilwell; and Courtney File, a December 2002 graduate from Beloit.

Engineering students to serve on council

Two Kansas University engineering students will serve as officers in the Central Region of the National Association of Engineering Student Councils.

Jennifer Gunby, a senior from Roeland Park, was elected vice president for communications during an April meeting in Austin, Texas. Andrew G. Schmidt, a sophomore from Bloomington, Minn., was elected vice president of administration.

The students, both members of KU's Engineering Student Council, will serve during the next school year.

Conference to explore issues on aging

The 2003 Governor's Conference on Aging Issues, sponsored by the Kansas Department on Aging, will be Wednesday and Thursday at the Capitol Plaza Hotel and Maner Conference Center, 1717 S.W. Topeka Blvd.

Titled "Celebrating Healthy Choices for a Lifetime," the conference aims to raise participants' understanding of aging issues in a growing elderly population; strengthen partnerships among businesses, organizations and government agencies; and educate the public about issues they face as they age.

Speakers will include Kent Collins, national columnist on aging, Buck O'Neil, chairman of the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum in Kansas City, Mo., Bill Colby, author of "Long Goodbye: The Deaths of Nancy Cruzan" about right-to-die issues, and Pamela Johnson-Betts, secretary of the Department on Aging.

To get more information or register, call (800) 432-3535 or visit www.agingkansas. org/kdoa.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.