Archive for Saturday, January 18, 2003

Scouting news

January 18, 2003


William Merritt Sawyer, 16, was awarded Boy Scouting's highest award of Eagle Scout during a ceremony Jan. 11. Nationally, only 2 percent of Scouts attain the achievement. Sawyer is a member of Troop 58. He is listed on the Lawrence High School honor roll. He is the son of Duane and Denise Sawyer, Lawrence.


Pelathe District had its annual volunteer recognition dinner Jan. 11 at the First United Methodist Church. The flag ceremony was conducted by Scouts from the Order of the Arrow. James J. Terry Jr., council executive, talked about future projects for improvement including camps Naish and Bartle.

Boy Scout Troop 59 won the award for having the most representatives at the dinner.

Troop 61 received the District Camping Award for having the highest percentage of Scouts participating in regular camping, The troop also received the National Camping Award.

Troop 55 received the Summer Camp Award for having the highest percentage of Scouts at summer camp. The Day Camp Award, for most participation, went to Cub Scout Pack 3051.

The Activities Award went to Jim Peterson. The Commissioner's Service Award went to John Scott. Sandra Wiechert received the District Committee Service Award.

Arthur "Tripp" Anderson was honored for becoming a James E. West Fellow because of his generous financial support of the Boy Scouts of America. Helen Clark received a Council Pow Wow Award.

Ralena McCurdy and Schuyler Bailey received the District Award of Merit, the highest award for an adult volunteer at the district level. Both recipients have been active in numerous positions, with numerous units. About 90 people attended.


Cub Scout Pack 3055, chartered to the Westside Presbyterian Church, awarded the Arrow of Light to several Webelos at their pack meeting on Jan. 9.

The Arrow of Light is the highest award that a Cub Scout can earn and is the only rank award that a Cub Scout can wear on his Boy Scout uniform.

Those who received the award were Christopher Grolock, Connor Kring and James Murphy. Parents who participated in the award ceremony included Brit Kring, Kirsten Price, Jim Ellis, Ginnie Ellis and Mary Murphy.


Cub Scout Pack 3051, chartered to Pinckney School, had its annual Pinewood Derby workshop at the Troop 55 Scout Cabin Jan. 4.

Scouts who attended were Dylan Sauer, Dante Tucker, Michael Robinson, Mason Robinson, Tyler Gibson, William Gibson, Diamond Brockway, Austin Holladay, Rich DiBenedetto, Justin Stearns, Bradley Pickering, Abe Sampson, Ian Gent, Zachary Curran and Kelly Dunaway.

Bob Gent and Bob Bignall were available to help the Scouts in making their Pinewood Derby cars, which will be raced at a later date.


Boy Scout Troop 53, chartered to the First Christian Church, had its January campout Jan. 11-12 at a private farm south of Lawrence.

The Scouts worked on rank advancement and despite the relative mild winter, learned about cold weather camping.

Scouts who attended were Chris Berger, Joey Berger, Nick Chance, Patrick Coffey, Mitchell Grant, Devon Griffin, Aaron Ideus, Jimmy Kelley, Stephen May, Daniel Rieder, Alex Webster, Brett Yulich and Jordan Yulich. Adult leaders who accompanied them were Ron Spangler, scoutmaster, Carey Berger, Kip Grosshans, Roger Rieder, Steve Segebrecht and Mitch Yulich.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.