Archive for Sunday, January 12, 2003

Kansas track sweeps KSU Invitational

January 12, 2003


— The Kansas University track and field squad swept the men's and women's titles at this weekend's KSU Invitational at Kansas State University.

The men's team had seven event winners Saturday. Senior Anson Jackson won the long jump (22- 10 1/2), senior Benaud Shirley won the triple jump (49-4 1/4), senior Jeremy Hull won the pole vault (16-4 3/4) and senior T.J. Hackler won the high jump (6-11).

Sophomores Jeremy Mims (1:54.01) and Joshy Madathil (8:49.43) won the 800-meter run and the 3000-meter runs, and juniors Leo Bookman (6.91) and Mike Walker (6.97) went 1-2 in the 60-meter dash.

Jackson provisionally qualified for the NCAA Indoor Championships in the 60-meter hurdles with his second-place time of 7.95.

On Friday, the women's team beat Kansas State 87-67. Sophomore Sondra Rauterkus placed second in the high jump at 5-foot-10, qualifying for the NCAA Championships. Sophomore Brooklyn Hann set a new meet record in the triple jump with a first-place mark of 40-3 1/2.

The Jayhawks swept two distance events, as junior Arrah Nielsen and freshman Jenna Bimbi finished 1-2 in the the 1,000 meters and juniors Paige Higgins and Lauren Brownrigg and senior Eve Lamborn finished 1-2-3 in the 3,000-meter. Other event winners for Kansas included junior Robbie Harriford in the 60m dash (7.66), freshman Yvonne Calzonetti in the pole vault (11-9 3/4) and the Jayhawks' 400-meter relay team.

"It was a really competitive meet," Kansas coach Stanley Redwine said. "Our women set the tone yesterday, and the men wanted to do just as well."

KU will play host to the KU/KSU/MU Triangular on Jan. 24.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.