Archive for Saturday, January 11, 2003

Scouting news

January 11, 2003


Members of Girl Scout Troop 454 are planning a global dinner to benefit the Heifer Project. The dinner and program will begin at 6 p.m. Friday in the basement of St. John the Evangelist Catholic Church, 1234 Ky. To make reservations or for more information, call Brittany Mailand at 843-4956. Seating is limited.


The Pelathe District of the Heart of America Council, Boy Scouts of America, will have its annual district dinner at 6:30 p.m. today at the First United Methodist Church, 946 Vt. Jim Terry, the Heart of America Council executive, will be the featured speaker. Awards will be presented to outstanding adult leaders and Scout units for 2002. Cost for the dinner is $10 per person.


Boy Scout Troop 52, chartered to the First United Methodist Church, went camping Dec. 14-16 at Camp Bromelsick. The theme was Wilderness Survival. The following boys attended: Peter Tuttle, Mark Ashley, Ian O'Connor, Todd Roberts, Dwayne LaForce, Phillip Gilreath, Tim Barta, Jessie Walburn, Charlie Turner, Nicholas Joseph, Stephen Wilson, Andres Ramos, Henry Reiske, Justin Deaver and Evan Tedlock. They were accompanied by Wayne Deaver, scoutmaster, and adult leaders Nancy Wilson, Glen Sharp, Bruce Wagner and Bob Anderson.


Webelos from Cub Pack 3462, chartered to Langston Hughes School, did volunteer work at the Jubilee Cafe on Dec. 31. The Jubilee Cafe at First United Methodist Church provides breakfast on Tuesday and Friday mornings to the homeless and those in need in the Lawrence area.

The boys helped by setting up the dining area, serving and clearing the dining room. Those who participated were Stephen Graves, Nolan Frank, Scott Ragan, Ranjeet Ghorpade and Connor Bolen.


Tamegonit Lodge No. 147, of Heart of America Council, Order of the Arrow, had its annual winter banquet Jan. 4 at the Hilton Garden Inn in Kansas City, Kan. A number of Scouts from the Pelathe District were honored or recognized at the dinner.

Brandon McGuire, Michael E. O'Connor and Jason Russell were recipients of the Vigil Honor, the highest honor that the Order of the Arrow can bestow. It is given for service to lodge council and Scouting.

Michael Thomas and Tyler Thomas received the Brown Hawk Society Award, which encourages Brotherhood members to be active in their lodge and chapter. Victor Tuttle was honored as outgoing lodge chief, and Mason McCurdy was inducted as Chapter Two chief for 2003. About 650 people attended.


Area Girl Scouts are accepting orders for their annual cookie sale through Jan. 23. The cookies cost $3 per box and 100 percent of the proceeds support Girl Scouting. To place an order, call (800) 432-0286 or (785) 273-3100. The cookies will be delivered Feb. 22-March 5.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.