Archive for Saturday, February 15, 2003

Around and about

February 15, 2003


Charles and Kathy Branson, Lawrence, announce the birth of a daughter, Grace Elizabeth Branson, Feb. 7, 2003, at Overland Park Regional Medical Center. Grace has a brother, Chance Alexander, 2.

Grandparents are Charles and Linda Branson, Rockaway Beach, Mo., and Rita Evans, Kansas City, Kan. Great-grandparents are Rose Friedl, Kansas City, Kan., and Eleanor Neufeld, Hutchinson.


Kenneth Wilcox, Eudora, will celebrate his 90th birthday with a reception from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. Feb. 23 at the Eudora Nursing Center. Wilcox worked for a cooperative or Farmland Industries from 1952 until retirement in 1975.

Friends may send cards to him at Eudora Nursing Center, 1415 Maple, Room 41, Eudora 66025.


Marian J. Madl, Lawrence, will celebrate her 90th birthday with a reception from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. Feb. 23 at The Lodge, 502 Ames, in Baldwin. Friends and family are invited. She requests no gifts.


Sarah Shapiro, a Lawrence High School graduate, has been named to the Merit List for the fall 2002 semester at Kenyon College, Gambier, Ohio, by earning at least a 3.45 grade-point average. Shapiro is the daughter of Joyce and Sidney Shapiro, Lawrence.


Brendon Bump, Lawrence, made the President's List by earning a 4.0 grade-point average during the fall 2002 semester at Barton County Community College, Great Bend.


Friends University, Wichita, announces area students who made honors during the fall 2002 semester.

Amanda Barwick, Baldwin; Russell Slaugh, Lawrence; and Andrea McGranahan, Ozawkie; made the President's Honor Roll by earning a 3.9 to 4.0 grade-point average. Rhett Dubiel, Lawrence, made the Dean's Honor Roll by receiving a 3.6 to 3.899 GPA.


Erin Breeden, Lawrence, recently was elected vice president of Willard Sorority at Nebraska Wesleyan University, Lincoln, Neb. She also is the newly elected president of the campus organization Meeting of Students Addressing Intercultural Concerns for the spring 2003 semester.


Allen County Community College, Iola, announces area students who earned honors during the fall 2002 semester.

Students who made the President's Honor Roll by earning a 4.0 grade-point average were Michael Blood II, Jenna Henderson, and Ray Thompson, Overbrook; Becky Kirkwood, Tecumseh; and Karen Sage, Ozawkie.

Those who made the Dean's Honor Roll by receiving a 3.5 to 3.99 GPA were David Anstaett and Keith Arkenberg, Tecumseh; Stacy Drake, Eudora; Courtney Giltner, Oskaloosa; and Andrew Oatman, Ottawa.

Students who made Honorable Mention by receiving a 3.0 to 3.49 GPA were Crystal Boehr, Lawrence; Tara Boswell and Stephen Levins, Ottawa; Janese Bullington, Amber Johnson and Kylie Smith, Overbrook; Nathaniel Burney, Christopher Davin, Amanda Norwood and Aubrey Rork, Tecumseh; Brian Ferguson, Pomona; Rachel Garner, Osawatomie; Amber Lund, Wellsville; and Stephen Swirczynski, Stilwell.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.