Archive for Saturday, August 2, 2003

Scouting news

August 2, 2003


Brian Segebrecht, a member of Boy Scout Troop 52, was honored June 1 during a Court of Honor at First Christian Church for achieving the rank of Eagle Scout. He developed a butterfly garden and built a seating area at Langston Hughes School for his Eagle Scout project. Brian has been a member of Troop 52 since 1996. He is a member of the Order of the Arrow and has attended the high adventure programs at Canoe Base, Teton High Adventure Base and Philmont Scout Ranch. He attended Camp Alexander in Colorado. Brian is a 2003 graduate of Free State High School. He plans to attend Kansas University in the fall.

  • Thirty-nine Scouts and Venture Crew members served as youth staff members for the Pelathe District 2003 Cub Scout Day Camp in June. They volunteered a total of 1,493 hours. Those who participated were Josh Ahlert, Tim Barta, Ben Bartels, Evan Cloar, Michael Davidson, Brendan Golledge, Chris Grolock, Logan Hinkle, Wes Hinkle, Nick Joseph, Dylan Lathom, Brandon Mailand, Mason McCurdy, Douglas Rawlings, Dom Reiske, Matthew Rogers, Michael Smith, Charles Turner, Ethan Vogelsang, Justin Wellman, Steve Wilson and Nathan Wycoff, of Troop 52; Bryce Barringer, Joshua Gore, Colin Kappelman and Joseph Vannicola, of Troop 55; Ricky Bellinger and John Wagner, of Troop 59; Josh Bailey, Josh Freeman and Roland Klunt, of Troop 61; David Lewis and Jonathan Morrison, of Troop 64; Alex Coffey, Tyler Waltz and Evan Wilson, of Troop 65; Kathy Lewis, Nicole Reiske and Desiree Richmond, of Venturing Crew 2052.

  • Boy Scout Troop 62, chartered to the Linwood Lions Club, went on a backpacking trip July 12-19 in the Flattops Wilderness Area of Colorado. They hiked and fished for trout. Boys who participated were Jon Raw, Paul Schlagel, Tom Schlagel, Tyler Thomas, Cary Britt, Joe Kelly, James Bishop and Matthew Beeves. They were accompanied by Randy Beeves, Scoutmaster, Michael Thomas and Dave Britt.

  • Webelo Scouts from Cub Scout Pack 3051, chartered to Pinckney School, attended Webelos Camp July 20-22 at the Theodore Naish Reservation. Michael Robinson and Trevor Welcher, first-year Webelos; and William Gibson, Justin Stearns and Trey Anderson, second-year Webelos, attended.

Pack 3051 had its July Summer Activity, the "Watermelon Splashdown" on July 23. The winner of the watermelon seed-spitting contest was Justin Stearns. Stephen Roberts took first place in the adult group. Cubs who attended were Graham Hosking, Dakota Zinn, Cory Church, Christopher Sloan, Johnathan Roberts, Nilo Pena, Michael Robinson, Patrick Shields, William Gibson and Justin Stearns.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.