Archive for Saturday, October 5, 2002

FCE and 4-H news

October 5, 2002


India F.C.E. will meet at 1:15 p.m. Thursday at the home of Bonnie Bond. The lesson topic will be "No Time? No Problem? Fabric Care for Today's Hectic Lifestyles."

Kanwaka F.C.E. will meet at 1 p.m. Tuesday at the home of Mary Ann Strong. Co-hostess will be Norma Kampschroeder. Strong will present the program, "Fabric Care for Today's Hectic Lifestyle."

The Four Leaf Clover 4-H Club met Sept. 9 at the Douglas County 4-H Fairgrounds. During the meeting, new officers were elected. They are Jim Ashcraft, president; Katie Jo Woltez, junior president; Weston Allen, vice president; Louis Hamel, junior vice president; Erin Ashcraft, secretary; Patrick Pottorff, junior secretary; Jerry Wohletz, treasurer; Garett Jones, junior treasurer; Kelly Flanders, reporter; Max Iverson, junior reporter; Kim Livingood, song leader; Jerod Teft, junior song leader; Jen Livingood, recreation; Kevin Flanders, junior recreation; and Anne Dinsdale, parliamentarian.

Members were reminded to take their projects and ribbons to First State Bank today for National 4-H week. The county's achievement celebration will be Oct. 27. Registration forms for the Washington Focus are due Wednesday.

The club will have a bowling party from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. Dec. 29 at the Royal Crest Lanes.

Kevin Flanders gave a talk on entomology called "Bugs on a Stick."

The Clinton Eagles 4-H Club met Sept. 9. Members answered roll call by telling the place where they were born. Kirstyn Heine led the club in a song.

Donald Baldwin provided a treasurer's report. Lanaea Heine gave the leader report. The club voted to support a community service project to help an orphanage in Russia. Members will collect supplies and bring them to the next meeting.

The club also voted to have a concession stand Oct. 6. A sign-up sheet was distributed. The club will have a display at Wakarusa Valley School for 4-H Week.

The club elected the following officers for 2002-2003: Michelle Colgan, president; Haven Bouton, vice president; Alison Richardson, secretary; Kahlyn Heine, treasurer; Melissa Richardson, parliamentarian; Jessica Newman, reporter; Sandina Oxford, historian; Morgan Manger and Nicki Snodgrass, song leaders; Hyrum Richardson and Simon Fangman, recreation leaders; Haven Bouton and Michelle Colgan, county council representatives.

Several new members joined the club. Simon Fangman and Hyrum Richardson led the recreation activity. The Newman and Leinmiller-Renick families provided snacks.

The next meeting will be at 7 p.m. Monday at Wakarusa Valley School.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.