Archive for Saturday, November 2, 2002

Scouting news

November 2, 2002


Pelathe District had its 17th annual District Recognition Banquet Oct. 24 at the Lawrence Country Club.

The banquet was given to honor the 38 Scouts who had earned their Eagle rank during the past 12 months. Allen Wiechert, who is the immediate past advancement chair, was guest speaker. He challenged the Eagles to learn more about the history of Scouting and to continue their service to the community.

John Sayler represented the Sons of the American Revolution and talked about special Eagle scholarships. Eric Dickinson represented the Heart of America Council at the dinner.

Scouts who attended the banquet were Oliver Devlin, Michael Flavin, Joshua Cosgrove, Cary Britt, Daniel Beuthien, Hans Broers, Ben Gleeson, Christopher Ketter, Brian Spangler, Benjamin Thomas, Jason Vannicola, Thomas Shmalberg, Brandon McGuire, Eli Stogsdill, Kelsey Mullis, William Sawyer, Taylor Anderson, Seth Readinger, Bryan Maygers, Zachary King and Andy Struble.

Funding for the dinner was provided by the Lawrence Breakfast Optimists Club and the Bromelsick Activity Trust.

Allen Wiechert was presented the Pelathe District "Follow Me Boys" award, recognizing his more than 12 years of service as the district advancement chair.

Wiechert is an Eagle Scout. During his tenure as advancement chair, he helped more than 280 boys reach the rank of Eagle. The award is granted on an occasional basis to Pelathe District adult leaders who have distinguished themselves with extended service directly with Scouts and to the Scouting Program. Wiechert also has served in his career as advancement chairman for Troop 59, district committee chair and member of the Heart of America Council Advancement Committee. He also served as a group leader for High Adventure trips to Philmont, Summer Canoe Base and the Appalachian Trail. He served as a volunteer at Philmont and was on the volunteer staff at the last National Boy Scouts Jamboree.

Boy Scout Troop 52, chartered to the First United Methodist Church, had its semi-annual election of boy leaders on Oct. 22.

The following boys were elected: Will Sharp, senior patrol leader; Wesley Cook, assistant senior patrol leader; Mason McCurdy, troop guide; Westley Hinkle, patrol leader; Cyril Cook, patrol leader; Todd Roberts, patrol leader; Jack Berkowitz, patrol leader; Evan Tedlock, quartermaster; Tim Barta, historian; Evan Cloar, librarian; Nick Joseph, chaplain's aide; Henry Reiske, OA troop representative; Justin Deaver and Paul Bireta, instructors.

The following boys will serve as assistant patrol leaders: David Long, Peter Tuttle, Philip Gilreath and Cameron Hershiser. Bill Berkowitz, David Oehlhausen, Tristan Wagner and Sam Donnell will be the patrol guides. The boys will serve in the offices for six months.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.