Archive for Monday, May 27, 2002


May 27, 2002


Law graduates honored

Seven Kansas University School of Law graduates received special awards at a ceremony last week.

Honored were as follows:

Lawrence Jenab, Lawrence, the Faculty Award for Outstanding Scholastic Achievement.

Jay Heidrick, Beloit, the Walter Hiersteiner Outstanding Service Award.

Kristen Merchant, Overland Park, the Lloyd Kagey Outstanding Leadership Award.

Mikas Kalinauskas, Vilnius, Lithuania, the Samuel Mellinger Scholarship, Leadership and Service Award.

Molly Westering, Grand Island, Neb., the Janean Meigs Memorial Award.

Kevin Yoder, Hutchinson, the Class of 1949 Leadership Award.

Professor, consultant named to committee

Kansas University Law School professor Phillip DeLaTorre of Lawrence has been appointed chairman of the Kansas Advisory Committee to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights. In addition, Richard Gutierrez, a freelance management and program consultant in Lawrence, has been appointed to the advisory committee.

The committee helps the federal civil rights commission investigate civil rights problems.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.