Archive for Sunday, May 19, 2002

Eight students honored at reception Saturday

May 19, 2002


Chancellor Robert Hemenway will give awards to nine graduating seniors and eight professors as part of Kansas University's commencement.

The Chancellor's Student Awards, distributed Saturday during a reception, went to:

 Anneliese Stoever, Overland Park, Donald K. Alderson Memorial Award.

 Karrigan Brk, Lawrence, Class of 1913 Award.

 Holly Worthen, McPherson, Class of 1913 Award.

 Kendra Seaman, Wichita, Alexis F. Dillard Student Involvement Award.

 Jessica Bankston, San Angelo, Tex., Rusty Leffel Concerned Student Award.

 Kyle Browning, Overland Park, Rusty Leffel Concerned Student Award.

 Robert McKenney, Clinton, Mo., Caryl K. Smith Student Leader Award.

 Jennifer Bacani, Fredonia, Agnes Wright Strickland Award.

 Eric Snider, Wichita, Agnes Wright Strickland Award.

Faculty members who will receive awards today:

 Katherine Fletcher, clinical assistant professor of nursing; Norberto Gonzalez, professor of molecular and integrative physiology; and Kimberly J. Templeton, assistant professor of orthopedic surgery, Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Classroom Teaching.

 Sandra Gray, associate professor of anthropology, and Suzanne Rice, associate professor of teaching and leadership, H. Bernerd Fink award for outstanding classroom teaching.

 Andrew Borovik, associate professor of chemistry, Archie and Nancy Dykes Award for undergraduate teaching and mentoring.

 David Katzman, professor of American studies, Ned N. Fleming Trust Award for teaching, scholarship and service.

 Debora Ortega, assistant professor of social welfare, Silver Anniversary Award.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.