Archive for Saturday, May 4, 2002

Scouting news

May 4, 2002


Jill Baringer and Sarah Callan, both of Lawrence, were elected to attend the 2002 Girl Scout National Council Session Oct. 71-20 in Long Beach, Calif.

The National Council Session brings together the largest representation of individuals who deal with the governance of Girl Scouting and demonstrates the democratic process in Girl Scouting.

Baringer was a Girl Scout for 12 years. She is a Brownie and Junior Girl Scout leader in Lawrence.

Callan has been in Girl Scouting for eight years. She has worked as a program aide for several events in Lawrence, including Junior Jamboree, Nature Photo Shoot and Hidden Valley Day Camp.

Girl Scouts of Kaw Valley Council recognized outstanding achievements by volunteers at its 2002 annual meeting on April 6 in Lawrence.

Christina Phelps, Lawrence, received an Appreciation Pin, which is awarded to volunteers who have given outstanding service above and beyond the expectations for the position.

Cris Bandle, Lawrence, and Karen Heady, Oskaloosa, received Honor Pins. The pins are given to individuals who have given outstanding service above and beyond the expectations for the position, and contribute to the council's goals and objectives.

Judy Wilson, Lawrence, received the Girl Scout Plate, which recognizes individuals who show a unique dedication to Girl Scouts, giving an unusual amount of time and talent, and who have received other service unit and council awards.

About 275 scouts and 75 adult leaders participated in this year's Scouting for Food on April 20 and April 27. The food drive produced 2.9 tons of food that was distributed to various Lawrence food pantries.

Rod Zinn, chairman of the Troop 52, headed the drive for the Pelathe District. The following units participated in the drive: Troops 52, 53, 55, 59, 61 and 158, and Packs 3051, 3052, 3055, 3058, 3059, 3071, 3072, 3077 and 3462.

Cub Scout Pack 3051, chartered to Pinckney School, kept busy during April. The Tiger Cubs participated in a "Go-See-It" outing at the Kansas University Natural History Museum. Harold Aiken, adult leader, lead the activity. Boys who participated were Dante Tucker, Spencer Wilson, Christopher Sloan, Nicholas Crowe and William Thompson.

The pack had its monthly meeting April 17 at Pinckney School. Brian Loux, Abe Sampson, Trevor Norris, Max Butterfield and Michael Robinson earned their Wolf badges.

The Pack also participated in Scouting For Food. The boys who helped were Rich DiBenedetto, Austin Holladay, Tyler Gibson, Dylan Sauer, William Gibson, Justin Stearns, Damon Stephens, Trevor Norris, Max Butterfield, Johnathan Roberts, Calvin Abbott and Nicholas Crowe.

The scouts also attempted on April 27 to participate in the annual Clinton Lake cleanup, but the project was postponed because of lightning.

Boy Scout Troop 52, chartered to the First United Methodist Church in Lawrence, had its semi-annual elections on April 23. The following boys will serve as officers: Josh Cosgrove, senior patrol leader; Paul Bireta, assistant senior patrol leader; Jack Berkowitz, troop guide; Evan Tedlock, quartermaster; David Long, scribe; Tristan Wagner, OA representative; Andres Ramos, historian; Nathan Wycoff, chaplain's aide; Phillip Gilreath, librarian, and Will Sharp, instructor. Justin Deaver, Mason McCurdy and Peter Tuttle were elected patrol leaders. They will be assisted by Henry Reiske, Cyril Cook and Wes Hinkel, patrol guides.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.