Archive for Saturday, March 16, 2002

Scouting news

March 16, 2002


Joshua Michael Cosgrove, Lawrence, has earned the Eagle Award, the highest advancement award the Boy Scouts of America offers to Scouts.

Cosgrove, of Boy Scout Troop 52, will be recognized in ceremonies at 2 p.m. March 23 at the Plymouth Congregational Church, 925 Vt.

Only about 2 percent of all Boy Scouts attain the rank of Eagle Scout. Each candidate must earn 21 merit badges and successfully complete a community, church or synagogue- related service project to earn his Eagle.

He joined Scouting as a Tiger Cub in Pack 268, Millersville, Pa., in September 1992. As a Webelo, he earned all 20 activity pins, the compass emblem, all three compass points and many belt loops. He attended Camp Mack as a Webelo Scout.

As a Cub Scout, Cosgrove earned the World Conversation Award, and the Arrow of Light. The Arrow of Light is the highest award in Cub Scouting.

In March 1997, Cosgrove joined Troop 393 in Willow Street, Pa., where he earned the ranks of Scout, Tenderfoot, and Second Class. He achieved the rank of First Class in Troop 363 in Ephrata, Pa. In August 1999, he transferred to Troop 97 in Austin, Tex., where Cosgrove earned the ranks of Star and Life. He joined Troop 52 in Lawrence in September 2000.

He has served in the leadership positions of assistant patrol leader, patrol leader, troop scribe, troop quartermaster, troop instructor and troop guide. He also has completed Junior Leader training.

Cosgrove is a member of the Order of the Arrow, an honor camping society. He has spent more than 100 nights camping and more than 80 miles hiking. He has attended summer camps at Camp Mack and Camp Bashore, Pennsylvania; Lost Pines, Texas; and Camp Naish, Kansas. He also has attended High Adventure camps including Laguna Station, South Padre Island, Tex., and Florida Seabase. He also worked at Lost Pines as a CIT in 2000 and Camp Naish as an instructor during the past summer.

Cosgrove has earned 36 merit badges, the World Conversation Award, Paul Bunyan Woodsman Award, Polar Bear Award and Red Hot Chili Pepper Award.

His Eagle project consisted of building an 18-foot bridge and an amphitheater at Prairie Park Nature Center in Lawrence. He also had to clear a path to and from the project.

Cosgrove, son of Tim and Myra Cosgrove, is a sophomore at Free State High School, where he has maintained a 3.8 grade point average. He is a member of the wrestling team. He also is a member of the senior seminar youth group at Plymouth Congregational Church.

Girl Scouts, from the Lawrence Catholic School St. John the Evangelist campus, sponsored a "Tick Talk" presented by the Lyme Disease Association of Kansas City. Cub Scouts from Pack 3057, chartered by the Catholic School PTO, were invited to attend. The presentation focused on tick identification, avoiding ticks when in their habitat and the basics of Lyme Disease.

Girl Scouts who attended were Nadia Scruggs, Taylor Stephens, Rebecca O'Brien, Abbie Ramos, Brittany Mailand, Shannon Bergin, Chloe Wake, Rachel VenHorn, Darcy McDonough, Kathleen Hermesch and Whitney Jaimez. Cub Scouts who participated were Henry Hodges, Dom Reiske, Michael Smith, Ethan Vogelsang, Lukas Vogelsang, Andy Fitzgerald, Jonathan Fitzgerald, Adams Ramos, Carrick Finnegan and Patrick Shields. Adult leaders who attended were Jenny O'Brien, Jackie Bogner, Barb Kessler, Michelle Mailand, April Ramos, Anthony Ramos and Joan Grosdidier.

Boy Scout Troop 52, sponsored by the First United Methodist Church of Lawrence, had its February campout in conjunction with the Pelathe District Klondike Derby. The following boys attended: David Ohlhausen, Nick Joseph, Henry Reiske, Cameron Herschieser, Levi Klundt, Justin Deaver, Wes Hinkle, Roland Klundt, Phil Gilreath, Matthew Rogers, Evan Cloar, Sam Donnell, Mason McCurdy, David Long, Dwayne LaForce, Will Sharp, Tristan Wagner, Josh Cosgrove and Michael Ornburn.

Adult leaders who attended were: Wayne Deaver, Scoutmaster; Jason Wingerson, Glen Sharp, Josh Spradlin, Bruce Wagner, assistant Scoutmasters; Rod Zinn, troop chair; Mike McCurdy, Ralena McCurdy, Rowley Tedlock, Tim Cosgrove and Myra Cosgrove, committee members.

Members of Troop 52 helped set up and disassemble the Douglas County Science Fair at the Douglas County 4-H Fairgrounds. Those who helped were Nick Joseph, Wes Hinkle, Levi Klundt, Roland Klundt, Mason McCurdy, Justin Deaver, Jack Berkowitz, Matthew Rogers, Todd Roberts, Evan Cloar and Phil Gilreath.

Adults present were Mike McCurdy, Bill Rogers, Chuck Gilreath and Rachel Kasliatis.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.