Archive for Saturday, March 2, 2002

Scouting news

March 2, 2002


Venture Crew 2691, chartered to Lawrence Wesleyan Church, conducted an election for youth leaders at its Feb. 17 meeting. The officers elected were Josh Spradlin, president; Mike Ornburn, first vice president; Tristan Wagner, second vice president, Paul Bireta, secretary; and Bill Berkowitz, treasurer.

The Crew is planning for its high adventure trip in August at Philmont Scout Ranch.

Scouts Henry Reiske, Troop 52, Ryan King and Christopher Neal, Troop 59, helped with the Lenten Fish Fry Feb. 15 at St. John the Evangelist Catholic Church.

Cub Scout Pack 3051, chartered to Pinckney School, had its annual Blue and Gold banquet Feb. 23. Guests included Judy Long O'Neal, pastor of Centenary United Methodist Church, and Kim Bodensteiner, principal of Cordley School. David Berkowitz and Sue Reiske, of Troop 52; Mark Gleason and Kelly Taylor, of Troop 59; and Kim Gouge, of Troop 55, helped with the Bridging ceremony.

The following boys were awarded the Arrow of Light, the highest rank in Cub Scouting: Joseph Vannicola, John McLean, Jacob Burchett, Josh Durflinger, Ian Heinerikson, Chance McKinney, Ian O'Connor, Keagan Taylor and Casey Wagner.

The following boys were bridged to various Troops: Joseph Vannicola, John McLean, Jacob Burchett, Josh Durflinger, Chance McKinney, Ian O'Connor, Troop 55; Kelly Jones, Troop 52; Keagan Taylor, Troop 59; and Casey Wagner, Troop 53. The new Arrow of Light Scouts conducted the closing ceremonies.

Cub Scout Pack 3059, chartered to First Presbyterian Church, had its annual Blue and Gold banquet Feb. 23.

The following boys were awarded the Arrow of Light, the highest award in cub scouting: Robbie Ferguson, William Gandy, Wolfgang Johanning, Cody Knapik, Kenny Myers, Dylan Shmalberg, Jared Willits, Jacob Wilson and Jared Wilson. Cody Knapik was bridged into Troop 60. William Gandy, Drake Griffin, Mark Heidrick, Wolfgang Johanning, Kenny Myers, Dylan Shmalberg, Jared Willits, Jacob Wilson and Jared Wilson were bridged into Troop 55.

Cub Scout Pack 3056, chartered to Lecompton United Methodist Church, had its annual Pinewood Derby Feb. 18.

Here are the results of the Den races: Austin Clark, first, Tanner Bohannan, second, Brady Carver, third, and Cameron Bedford, fourth, Tigers; Sam O'Trimble, first, Tyler Dark, second, Travis Bohannan, third, and Jacob Thonen, fourth, Wolves; Dalton Bahnmaier, first, Tyler Bedford, second, Dalton Carver, third, Bear; Brooks Christman, first, Joe Johnson, second, Tyler Christman, third, Justin Marino, fourth, Webelos.

Evan Foas won the award for Best Wedge. Dalton Bahnmaier earned an award for most unique car. Shelby Pallite earned honors for the most colorful car.

The overall Pack winners were Sam O'Trimble, first; Brooks Christman, second; and Joe Johnson, third.

Boys Scouts and adults from Troop 55, chartered to Westside Presbyterian Church, participated in the 25th Annual Trappers Rendezvous January 18-20.

They traded goods with fellow campers and refined their cold-weather camping skills. Special Trappers Rendezvous patches were given to the following boys: Will Middleton, Corey Vadnais, Andrew Clancy, Grady Walker, Travis Andregg, Dan Rudman, Micah Clark, Scott Ollila, Drew Braden, Andrew Sigler, Matt James, Brandon Mailand, David Hanson, Shawn Scott and Michael Scott. Adults who attended were: Scoutmaster Kim Gouge and Assistant Scoutmasters Jim Peterson, Greg Sanderson, Mark Klug, Don Clancy and Annelee Marsh.

Troop 55 celebrated Scout Sunday with its charter organization on Feb. 17.

Scouts who participated in the Sunday service were: Danny Ohlemeier, acolyte; Bryce Baringer, Jordan Gouge, Scott Ollial, Kevin Willmott, trumpeters; Chase Samuels, Oliver Devlin, scripture reading; Grady Walker, Andrew Clancy, Andrew Boyd and Ben Vogel, ushers. Jim Peterson, assistant Scoutmaster, was the liturgist.

Troop 55 had its Court of Honor on Feb. 25. The following boys advanced in rank: Steven Howe, Scout rank; Andrew Clancy and Adrian Tubbs, 2nd Class Scouts; Ben Vogel, 1st Class Scout; Bryce Baringer and Logan Marienau, Star Scouts; Matt Avila, Bryant Denning, Willie Frick, Jeff Hornberger and Josh Sanderson, Life Scouts.

The 50-miler award was earned by Andrew Avila and Assistant Scout leaders Mark Avila and Deb Vannicola.

Jim Peterson recently was given the Silver Beaver Award, which is one of the highest awards given by the Boy Scout Council.

Troop 55 announces the following Scouts earned their Eagle badge: Jacob Wilson, Danny Affalter, Oliver Devlin and Michael Flavin. The Eagle badge is the highest rank awarded in Boy Scouts. Formal Courts of Honor will be at later dates.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.