Archive for Saturday, June 22, 2002

Scouting news

June 22, 2002


Boy Scout Troop 64 of Eudora had a Court of Honor on June 5 at Salem Chapel.

Hugh Jackson received a plaque in honor of his 34 years of service to the Scouting Program in Eudora. During these years, he has actively served in several positions including troop committee chairperson and chartered organization representative. As a parent of one of Troop 64's Eagle scouts, he has participated in and provided many camping and learning adventures for scouts.

Other adult leaders recognized for their efforts were Glenn Jackson, Karen Lewis, Ray Carroll, Jim Morrison, Bonnie Neis, Amye Scott and Tom Whitten.

Justin Wellman and Ethan Becker received their Scout badge. Guy Montgomery, David Lewis, Bryce Landon, Justin Wellman, Michael Whitten, Frank Male and Joel Morrison received merit badges.

In April, Troop 64 participated in one of its annual community service projects, Scouting for Food. Scouts and adults receiving the community service patch for participation in this activity were James Snow, Aaron Neis, Bart Carroll, Jesse Montgomery, Bryce Landon, Frank Male, Josh Hartley, A.J. Lavery, Justin Male, David Lewis, Jim Adams, Justin Wellman, Joel Morrison, Karen Lewis, Ray Carroll, Amye Scott, Glenn Jackson, Jim Morrison and John Scott.

The troop camped out May 24-25 during heavy rains and wind at the Pelathe District Scout camping area west of Lawrence.

Seven youths and five adults, led by Ray Carroll, assistant scoutmaster, recently participated in a high-adventure week of camping and hiking in the mountains near Pueblo, Colo.

Eleven boys and four adults will be attending Camp Naish on Sunday under the guidance of Karen Lewis, assistant scoutmaster.

Jim Morrison, assistant scoutmaster, will be working at Camp Bartle, Osceola, Mo., for part of the summer.

Troop 64 has been chartered by the Eudora Lions Club since 1959 as part of their community outreach program. It is an active troop led by Glenn Jackson, scoutmaster. The group meets at 7 p.m. every Wednesday at Salem Chapel.

Venturing Crew 2691, went hiking June 8 at Clinton Lake in preparation for their trip to Philmont in August. The boys and adults hiked about eight miles and had a trail cooking demonstration. Venturing Scouts who participated included Bill Berkowitz, Josh Cosgrove, Josh Spradlin, Wes Hinkle, Peter Tuttle, Mike Ornburn and Cameron Hershiser. Glen Sharp, Herb Tuttle and Curtis Harris accompanied the boys.

Cub Scout Pack 3051, chartered to Pinckney School, and Pack 3059, chartered to the First Presbyterian Church of Lawrence, were among the many packs that participated in Pelathe District Cub Scout Day Camp June 10-14 at the Douglas County 4-H Fairgrounds.

Boys from Pack 3051 who attended were Aurelius Armstrong, Jamie Braden, Maxwell Butterfield, Ian Gent, Tyler Gibson, Willy Gibson, Brian Loux, Trevor Norris, Johnathan Roberts, Mason Robinson, Mikey Robinson, Dylan Sauer, Sabastion Simmons, Christopher Sloan, Justin Stearns, Thomas Thompson, William Thompson, Dante Tucker, Spencer Wilson and Dakota Zinn. Harold Aiken, Kim Aldridge and Shelly Welcher were members of the camp staff. Jan Loux, Kiyane Tucker, Bob Gent, Cammie Braden, Tina Todd and Ronald Armstrong participated as adult walking leaders.

Cubs from Pack 3059 who participated were Ludwig Johanning, Ulrich Johanning, Harrison Longhurst, Ryne Bretz, Jonathan Gabler, Derek Kappelman, Mark Laskowski, Ryan Marienau, Nathaniel Mehl, Alex Schrock, Byron Varberg, John Wagner, Wayne Adams, Chance Barritt, Daniel Clausing, Patrick Keizer, Patric Cummins, Philip Gabler, Bryce Griffith, Joshua Seybert, Tyler Yocum-Wulfkuhle, Doug Rawlings and Eli Hodge.

Boy Scout Troop 62, chartered to the Linwood Lions Club, attended Camp Naish June 9-15. Scouts attending were Cary Britt, Matthew Beeves, Paul Schlagel, Joe Kelly, Jon Raw, James Bishop, Tyler Thomas, Tom Schlagel, Luke Mueller and Joshua Bowen. They were accompanied by Randy Beeves and Michael Thomas. The boys earned a total of 32 merit badges. Jon Raw advanced to Brotherhood in the Order of the Arrow. Tyler Thomas, Michael Thomas, Jon Raw, James Bishop, Paul Schlagel, Tom Schlagel, Joe Kelly and Matthew Beeves helped with Order of the Arrow ceremonies as runners and brotherhood interviewers.

Thirteen boys and seven adults from Boy Scout Troop 55, chartered to the Westside Presbyterian Church, traveled June 15 to the Ibex Climbing Center in Blue Springs, Mo. Boys who attended were Andrew Clancy, Ben Vogel, Drew Braden, David Hanson, Brandon Mailand, Kevin Willmott, Keith Cowart, Austin Meyer, Matt James, Travis Andregg, Micah Clark, Scott Hird and Logan Marienau. The boys worked on or earned their climbing merit badge. Adults who accompanied the boys were George Vogel, Helen Clark, Cammie Braden, Scott Braden, Lori Hanson, Jason Vannicola and Laurie Marienau.

Two boys and one adult from Boy Scout Troop 52, chartered to the First Methodist Church in Lawrence, worked at Camp Naish June 9-15. Peter Tuttle and Justin Deaver were counselors-in-training, while Herb Tuttle was a voluntary commissioner.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.