Archive for Tuesday, June 11, 2002

Jones remains unopposed for county commission

June 11, 2002


Charles Jones remains unopposed in his bid for a second term as a Douglas County commissioner.

Jones, an incumbent whose district includes much of Lawrence, will not face a challenge from within his Democratic Party for another four-year term. No Republicans filed to challenge him, either.

Noon Monday was the filing deadline for candidates seeking area offices leading up to the Aug. 6 primary. The general election is Nov. 5.

Only one township clerk faces a primary challenge: Dennis Baranski of Lecompton. Ken Norwood, also a Republican, filed just before Monday's deadline.

Four incumbent township clerks  Jeanne Waisner of Kanwaka, Frank Rhodes of Marion, Jan Ballinger of Palmyra and Jerry Smith of Willow Springs  all filed to seek re-election. All are Republicans.

In Clinton Township, Republican Jim Baldwin is the lone candidate to file for the clerk job.

In Wakarusa Township, Trish Eckart filed as a Republican, and C.V. Williams filed as a Democrat.

Nobody filed for clerk jobs in Grant and Eudora townships. Whoever wins the most write-in votes  as long as it's at least three votes  will be placed on the November ballot.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.