Advertisement

Discussions

Reader comments

On Should a rumored burial site of Quantrill’s Raid victims at Ninth and New Hampshire streets be further investigated before a hotel is built there?

Comments

Eddie_Haskell 1 year, 10 months ago

Nope. Quantril's Raid never happened.

Why is Lawrence so full of itself?

-Asked on the LJW OTS, October 25, 2012, 12:21am

lunacydetector 1 year, 10 months ago

who comes up with these rumors, the same guy who said clyde barrow may have robbed tellers?

fiddleback 1 year, 10 months ago

[strokes beard, raises eyebrow] As an engineer, I suggest that they mix whatever bone fragments they find into the concrete for added strength ....Now what's this Quantrill's Raid you all keep talking about? Oh, nevermind. This freight train's not going to drive itself...

LogicMan 1 year, 10 months ago

Do the excavation carefully and if any remains are found give them a more proper burial than a mass grave in a trench.

RoeDapple 1 year, 10 months ago

When the bridge between Lawrence and Topeka was being built a skull was unearthed in the excavation process. A local asked the on scene engineer what he was going to do. With the toe of his boot he pushed it into the river and replied, "Do? About what?"

50YearResident 1 year, 10 months ago

Don't drag out construction over unfounded rumors. Even if bones are found, which I doubt, they couldn't be identified. Quantril's men had some casualties too and nobody knows who they were burried. All locals were properly buried. Don't turn this into another "Wetlands Fiasco".

corrections: Only one raider casualty: Larkin Skaggs.