Governor names three to Kansas Board of Regents

Kansas Gov. Jeff Colyer on Thursday appointed two new members and reappointed one member to the Kansas Board of Regents.

William Feuerborn, of Garnett, has been reappointed, and Allen Schmidt, of Hays, and Mark Hutton, of Wichita, will become the newest members. Each will serve a four-year term, pending Senate confirmation.

Feuerborn has served on the Board of Regents since 2014. He has spent the past 40 years in small-business development and ranching. He is an alumnus of Pittsburg State University.

photo by: Courtesy photo

William Feuerborn

Allen Schmidt is a retired U.S. Army colonel from Hays, where he works as the director for Development Services of Northwest Kansas. Schmidt served as a state senator in the Kansas Legislature from 2011 to 2013. He is an alumnus of the University of Kansas and Fort Hays State University.

photo by: Courtesy photo

Allen Schmidt

Mark Hutton is CEO of Hutton Construction Corp. He served as a state representative in the Kansas Legislature from 2013 to 2017. He is an alumnus of Kansas State University.

photo by: Courtesy photo

Mark Hutton

The nine-member Kansas Board of Regents is the governing board of the six state universities and the statewide coordinating board for the state’s 32 public higher education institutions.


Welcome to the new Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.