Business briefcase

March 3, 2014


• Four people from Lawrence are among the 40 selected for the 2014 class of Leadership Kansas, a program administered and supported by the Kansas Chamber of Commerce to educate and motivate leaders from around the state. The four are Lee Beth Dever of Stephens Real Estate - SNAP promotions; Christine Ladner, assistant attorney general in Derek Schmidt's office; Joshua Ney, Kansas securities commissioner; David Owens, head of product at Sprint.

• The board of directors for First Federal Savings and Loan announced it has named C. Alan Hoggatt as its new Lawrence branch president. Hoggatt will manage the daily operations of the branch and will be responsible for loan originations in the market. He joined First Federal Savings and Loan as a vice president in 1997.

• Peoples Bank handed out its 12th annual Peoples Promise Awards on Feb. 21, and among the 18 recipients were three from Lawrence: Lacey Conner took home the Personal Banker of the Year award, Katrina Chatman won Store Manager of the Year and Wint Winter Jr. collected the Chairman's Award.

• The Lawrence Chamber of Commerce will hold a workshop on saving money and reducing legal risk based on good human resource practices from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. March 5 at the chamber's offices, 646 Vermont St., Suite 200. It's sponsored by Kathy Perkins LLC and the Kansas University Small Business Development Center. Guests are asked to RSVP by emailing

• The local chapter of the Society of Human Resource Management will hold a half-day seminar from 9:45 a.m. to 2 p.m. April 8 at Pachamama's, 800 New Hampshire St., presented by Leigh Branham, who has 30 years of experience in business, education and management consulting. To register online, visit


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.