Lawrence police cited 46 motorists for not wearing their seat belts Monday night in a special enforcement effort that the department plans to repeat in the future, said Sgt. Trent McKinley, a Lawrence Police Department spokesman.
Kansas law mandates a minimum ticket of $60 for drivers and passengers ages 14 to 17 who are cited for not wearing a seat belt. The ticket is $10 for those 18 and older.
The seat belt enforcement efforts are paid for with a grant from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, and often lead police officers to discover other offenses. Officers also wrote two tickets for drivers with suspended licenses, three for drivers with no license, and one for driving with no insurance. Thirteen of the motorists pulled over by police were warned but not cited.
Sixty-three percent of Kansas fatality accident victims in 2012 were not wearing seat belts, according to the Kansas Department of Transportation. On average, 88 percent of Kansas motorists did wear them.