Archive for Wednesday, April 29, 2009

KU’s champion debaters receive Statehouse honors

The KU debate champions were honored in Topeka on Wednesday.

The KU debate champions were honored in Topeka on Wednesday.

April 29, 2009


— Kansas University’s championship debate team met the new governor, Mark Parkinson, and received honors from the Kansas House and Senate on Tuesday.

The Legislature adopted resolutions congratulating Brett Bricker and Nate Johnson for defeating defending national champion Wake Forest to win the National Debate Tournament Championship.

From left are state Sen. Marci Francisco, D-Lawrence; Sarah Topp, assistant coach; Athena Murray, assistant coach; Bricker; Parkinson; Chris Stone, senior; Kelly Winfrey, assistant coach; Johnson; and coach Scott Harris.

Bricker, a math major, and Johnson, who is majoring in philosophy, political science and psychology, topped 78 teams in a tournament last month in Austin, Texas. It was KU’s fifth national debate title.

The resolutions congratulated all team members and Harris for “outstanding achievements this season.”


TopJayhawk 9 years, 1 month ago

Cool beans. Congratulations guys and girls.
NC's are always exciting. Not just in team sports.
One more thing for the Mizzou folks to be jealous of.
I wonder if they can blame sweet Lou for buying off the debate judges. LMAO

Commenting has been disabled for this item.