Archive for Sunday, February 3, 2008

Emmitt Thomas makes Hall of Fame

Ex-Chiefs cornerback elected; Derrick Thomas falls short

February 3, 2008


— It was a Hall of Fame day for former Kansas City Chiefs cornerback Emmitt Thomas, elected to the shrine Saturday. Washington Redskins Art Monk and Darrell Green also were selected, while former commissioner Paul Tagliabue failed to get in for the second straight year.

Chiefs linebacker Derrick Thomas also failed to be selected.

"I feel very special to go in with Darrell and also Art Monk because those are two guys with high character," Emmitt Thomas said.

Also voted in were New England linebacker Andre Tippett, San Diego/San Francisco defensive end Fred Dean and Minnesota/Denver tackle Gary Zimmerman.

Thomas, a senior committee choice, played for the Chiefs from 1966-78. He ranks ninth all-time in interceptions with 58, which is fourth all-time best by a pure cornerback and is the Chiefs' all-time record. He led NFL with team-record 12 interceptions in 1974 - two shy of NFL all-time record

In his eighth year of eligibility, Monk finally was chosen. He concluded his career after the 1995 season with Philadelphia, but spent 13 years with the Redskins as one of the NFL's premier receivers. Monk held records for most consecutive games with a reception (164) and career catches (820). Both have been surpassed, but Monk didn't play in as wide-open an era on offense as many other receivers.

Green, one of the NFL's speediest and most skilled cornerbacks for two decades, spent his entire career (1983-2002) with the Redskins. He holds the record for consecutive seasons with an interception (19), and had 54 picks for 621 yards and six TDs. A member of the 1990s All-Decade team, Green made seven Pro Bowls.

The other player in his first year of eligibility, receiver Cris Carter, was not elected. Carter finished his 15-year career second on the career list in receptions and TD catches.

Inductions will be at the Pro Football Hall of Game in Canton, Ohio on Aug. 2.

Also failiing to get in were Redskins guard Russ Grimm, Buffalo Bills receiver Andre Reed, Oakland Raiders punter Ray Guy, Denver Broncos linebacker Randy Gradishar, Chicago Bears defensive end Richard Dent, Miami Dolphins guard Bob Kuechenberg and Vikings guard Randall McDaniel. Senior committee nominee Marshall Goldberg was not elected, either.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.