Archive for Saturday, July 17, 2004

Around and about

July 17, 2004


The Lawrence High School Class of 1969 is planning its 35th reunion. The event will be Sept. 3-5 and includes a buffet dinner, dance and golfing. The reunion committee is searching for classmates.

For more information or to share a classmate's whereabouts, contact Debbie Scrivner at (816) 392-0255, or by fax at (816) 574-3022. The Class of 1969 reunion planning committee is hoping any and all past administrators and faculty will attend. The Web site for the event is

  • An open house honoring the 80th birthday of Norman Bartlett, Lawrence, will be at 6:30 p.m. July 24 at the Holiday Inn Express, 3411 Iowa. Friends and family are invited to attend.

  • Elizabeth Phelps, Lawrence, was named to the dean's list for the spring semester at Mary Washington College, Fredericksburg, Va., by receiving at least a 3.5 grade-point average. Phelps, a 2003 graduate of Free State High School, is the daughter of David and Karen Phelps.

  • Several area students made honors at Highland Community College during the spring semester. Todd Roberts, Ottawa, and Daniel Dulin, Lawrence, made the dean's list by receiving a 3.5-3.99 grade-point average. Casey Rahmeier, Lawrence, and Rachelle Spillman, Linwood, made the president's list by earning a 4.0 GPA.

  • Heather Meehan, Lawrence, made the dean's list for the spring quarter at Southeast Community College, Lincoln, Neb., by receiving at least a 3.5 grade-point average.

  • Gary Freeman, Lecompton, made the president's honor roll during the spring semester at Kansas Wesleyan University, Salina, by receiving at least a 3.75 grade-point average.

  • Several Lawrence residents made the dean's list for the spring semester at Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, by earning at least a 3.5 grade-point average. They were Benjamin Cropp, Bryn Gardner, Jason Jenny, Cameron Karlin and Collin Schmidt.

  • Several area residents completed their degrees at Wichita State University during the spring semester. They were Travis Forsberg, Baldwin; Sarah Rodenbaugh, Basehor; Hsiang-Nan Chen and Bradley Williamson, Lawrence; and Heidi Yost, Perry. Chen graduated cum laude, and Williamson and Yost graduated magna cum laude.

  • Katherine Rhodes, a 2001 Free State High School graduate and a senior at Fort Hays State University, has accepted a $1,000 Harriet Blair Beach PEO Scholarship for the 2004-2005 academic year. Rhodes is the daughter of Steve and Connie Rhodes, Lawrence. She is studying health and human performance.

  • Neosho County Community College announces area students who received honors during the spring 2004 semester.

Students who made the president's honor roll by earning a 4.0 grade-point average were Theresa Oliver, Baldwin; Brooke McGary and Debra Megaffin, Lawrence; Bridgette Anderson, Patricia Gunnels, Jodi Hylton, Melissa Normile, Barbara Prochnow and Nathan Steward, Ottawa; Lyubov Voronin, Perry; and Linda Brooks, Russell Brooks, Katiana Conner and Dustie McClain, Wellsville.

Students who made the vice president's honor roll by earning a 3.5-3.99 GPA were Grant Rust, Baldwin; Naa Britwum, Angela Brown and Julia Chang, Lawrence; Deborah Brockway, Faye Cassell, Jerrad Goodell, Amy Kaub, Carmen Michaelsen, Melissa Mille, Jamie Nelson, Ryan Oshel, Amy Rich, Terri Taylor, Frank Weber and Amy Weigand, Ottawa; and Anjelica Burris, Wellsville.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.