Journal-World 2018 All-Area girls track team

Members of the All-Area girls track and field team, pictured from left are: Natalie Beiter, Baldwin, Kayla Kurtz, Baldwin, coach of the year Jack Hood, Lawrence, Asjah Harris, Lawrence, Cameryn Thomas, Free State, Auna Childress, Free State, Riley Hiebert, Eudora and Ava Heinbach, Veritas.

Athlete of the Year: Evann Seratte, Lawrence

Seratte broke the school record at the state track meet this spring, clocking a time of 2:16.09 to win the 800-meter run. Seratte did not qualify for the event during her sophomore season before claiming a title this spring. Seratte also placed second in the 400-meter run to help Lawrence clinch a team crown.

Coach of the Year: Jack Hood, Lawrence

Hood guided the Lions to their first title since 2016, as the girls track team dominated the state track meet behind a strong junior class. LHS scored 81 points in the meet, besting runner-up Olathe Northwest’s mark of 61 points. The Lions notched a podium finish in all three relay races to go along with nine individual medals.

photo by: Chris Duderstadt

Lawrence High’s Evann Seratte runs the final curve of the 6A girls preliminary heat of the 400 meters at the state track and field meet on Friday, May 25, 2018, at Wichita State’s Cessna Stadium.

First team

Natalie Beiter, Baldwin — The junior qualified in three different events for the state track meet, finishing second in the 800-meter run with a time of 2:18.84. Beiter won the event in the regional and league meet. In addition, Beiter helped the 4×800-meter relay place third and the 4×400-meter relay take fourth in the state meet.

Auna Childress, Free State — A school-record holder in triple jump, Childress finished as a runner-up in the event with a leap of 38-03.75 at the state meet. Childress, a sophomore, was also the regional champion in triple jump.

Cali Coleman, Perry-Lecompton — Coleman qualified in both the 4×100-meter relay and the 100-meter run. In the 100-meter run, the Perry-Lecompton sophomore finished third at the league meet and placed fourth in the regional meet.

Asjah Harris, Lawrence — On three different occasions, Harris found the podium at the state meet. Harris was the anchor of the 4×100-meter relay, which won the competition in Class 6A with a time of 47.90. Harris also finished second in the 200-meter run and was a member of the 4×400-meter relay team that claimed runner-up.

Riley Hiebert, Eudora — Hiebert was the anchor of the 4×800-meter relay, which placed 11th at the state meet with a time of 10:30.99. Hiebert also ran a time of 11:58.70 in the 3,200-meter run this season.

Ava Heinbach, Veritas — Due to a hamstring injury, Heinbach was unable to to compete in sprinting events in the postseason. The freshman picked up long jump and triple jump, notching medals in both events at the KCAA state track meet. Heinbach finished first in the triple jump competition and claimed third in long jump.

Kayla Kurtz, Baldwin — It was a consistent spring for Kurtz, who placed second in the javelin competition at the league, regional and state track meet. The junior’s best throw in the event was 148-11. Kurtz also placed fourth at the league and regional meet in shot put, recording a personal-best toss of 36-8.

Corrin Searcy, Tonganoxie — The junior has claimed five state medals during her career, including a bronze in the 400-meter run this past May. Searcy, who holds the school record in the event, clocked a time of 58.98 to take third. Searcy also won the 400-meter run at her respective regional meet.

Cameryn Thomas, Free State — A trio of medals from Thomas paced the Firebirds at the state meet. The Kansas signee leaped 18-0 to take third in the long jump competition after winning the event in the regional meet. Thomas also finished fifth in the 300 hurdles and eighth in the 100 hurdles.

Baylee Unruh, Lawrence — Unruh notched a silver medal at the state meet, claiming second in the javelin competition with a throw of 142-04.

Honorable mention

Erin Cushing, Free State; Josie Hickerson, Lawrence; Haley Kellum, Perry-Lecompton; Carly Lindenmeyer, Baldwin; Mia Manley, Eudora; Abby Ogle, Baldwin; Sierra Staatz, Tonganoxie; Talisa Stone, Perry-Lecompton.


Welcome to the new Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.