Posts tagged with National Weather Service

Severe Thunderstorm Watch canceled for Douglas County area

5:20 a.m. The National Weather Service has canceled the severe thunderstorm watch for Douglas, Franklin, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Osage, Shawnee, Wabunsee and Wyandotte counties. This clears the watch for the Lawrence, Kansas City, Ottawa and Topeka areas.

Original Operation 100 News report, 2:40 a.m. The National Weather Service offices in Topeka and Kansas City/Pleasant Hill have issued severe thunderstorm watch #481. The watch is in effect from 2:20 a.m. until 9 a.m. today.

19 counties in east central and northeast Kansas are impacted by this watch. This includes Douglas and all surrounding counties, along with the entire Kansas City metro area.

The National Weather Service says the main threat with the approaching storms will likely be wind gusts to near 60 miles per hour with the possibility of small hail.

Tweet @LJWorld with your weather conditions as the storm rolls in to your area. Be sure to include your approximate location.

Stay with Operation 100 News on this blog and Twitter for updates as the storms move across the county. Learn how to receive breaking news updates here. For a full look at incidents from Douglas and Johnson counties this morning, take a look at the Operation 100 News twitter feed using the link above.

Operation 100 News' listening hours as well as contact information is located on our Facebook page. Don't forget to give us a "Like" while you are there.