LJWorld.com weblogs The Newell Post

Get ready to vote for the KUSports.com All-Decade Team


Who's the best starting five for the Kansas men's basketball team in the last decade?

KU fans will get the chance to decide that over the next two months, as starting Monday, we will open voting for the KUSports.com All-Decade Team.

Here are the details: After consulting with KUSports.com staffers Gary Bedore, Tom Keegan and Matt Tait, we put together a bracket and seedings to rank the top eight KU players at each position* over the last 10 years. To qualify, KU players simply had to play any time from the 1999-2000 season on.

* — Each player was placed in his "best-fit" position, or the one that we most associated him with during his time at KU.

The brackets are below.

Enlarge point guards bracket

Enlarge shooting guards bracket

Enlarge small forwards bracket

Enlarge power forwards bracket

Enlarge centers bracket

Voting will begin on Monday with the point guards. We'll open voting for two matchups per day until we reach the semifinals.

To vote, you'll only need your KUSports.com username. You can sign up here if you don't have one.

KUSports.com users will only be allowed one vote per matchup per day, meaning if eighth-seeded Christian Moody is your guy, you might be best recruiting a few friends to help his cause.

Here's the schedule for voting on the KUSports.com All-Decade Team:

Mon., May 9: Sherron Collins vs. Brett Ballard; Russell Robinson vs. Tyshawn Taylor
Tues., May 10: Aaron Miles vs. Jeff Hawkins; Kirk Hinrich vs. Elijah Johnson
Wed., May 11: Mario Chalmers vs. Josh Selby; Kenny Gregory vs. Tyrel Reed
Thurs., May 12: Jeff Boschee vs. Michael Lee; Keith Langford vs. Luke Axtell
Fri., May 13: Brandon Rush vs. Alex Galindo; Brady Morningstar vs. J.R. Giddens
Mon., May 16: Nick Bradford vs. Travis Releford; Xavier Henry vs. Bryant Nash
Tues., May 17: Nick Collison vs. Christian Moody; Darrell Arthur vs. Julian Wright
Wed., May 18: Marcus Morris vs. Darnell Jackson; Wayne Simien vs. Thomas Robinson
Thurs., May 19: Drew Gooden vs. Jeff Carey; Sasha Kaun vs. Jeff Graves
Fri., May 20: Markieff Morris vs. Eric Chenowith; Cole Aldrich vs. David Padgett
Mon., May 23: Point guard semifinal No. 1
Tues., May 24: Point guard semifinal No. 2
Wed., May 25: Shooting guard semifinal No. 1
Thurs., May 26: Shooting guard semifinal No. 2
Fri., May 27: Small forward semifinal No. 1
Mon., May 30: Small forward semifinal No. 2
Tues., May 31: Power forward semifinal No. 1
Wed., June 1: Power forward semifinal No. 2
Thurs., June 2: Center semifinal No. 1
Fri., June 3: Center semifinal No. 2
Mon., June 6: Point guard final
Tues., June 7: Shooting guard final
Wed., June 8: Small forward final
Thurs., June 9: Power forward final
Fri., June 10: Center final

Once KUSports.com users have selected the All-Decade Team, we'll take the winners at each position, put all five names in one poll, and have a two-day voting period on June 13-14 to determine the KU Player of the Decade.

So, who's the best starting five for the Kansas men's basketball team in the last decade?

Starting Monday, it'll be up to you guys to let us know.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.