Free State senior Jax Dineen nets top Sunflower League award

photo by: Mike Yoder

Free State's Jax Dineen (33) leaves defenders behind him as he picks up yardage in a 6A sub-state game against Haysville-Campus Friday night at FSHS.

Few teams had an answer for Free State senior Jax Dineen throughout the 2018 season.

That is why Dineen was ultimately named the Sunflower League player of the year, which was announced Monday. Dineen was named to the first team as both a running back and linebacker after leading the Firebirds to a 10-1 record this season, which ended with a loss to Manhattan High in the 6A quarterfinals.

Free State senior Keenan Garber was also listed at multiple positions on the first team, as he earned such honors as a receiver, defensive back and a punt returner. Turner Corcoran (offensive lineman), Lovette Epelle (defensive lineman), Jalen Nash (linebacker) and Malik Berry (defensive back) were also named to the first team for the Firebirds.

Lawrence High senior defensive lineman EJ Jewsome was named to the first team, as well.

In addition, Berry was named to the second team as a quarterback. He was joined by Free State teammates Shane Skwarlo (offensive lineman) and Oliver Paranjothi (defensive back) on the second team. LHS senior Caleb Mondi was represented on the second team as a linebacker.

The Firebirds also had plenty of players featured on the honorable mention team.

Ryan Lutz (offensive lineman), Zach Rasys (offensive lineman), Kyle Flachsbarth (offensive lineman), Jake Zenger (tight end), Jaxson Webb (receiver), LJ Mack (receiver and kick returner), Devon Buck (defensive lineman), Brandon Zeller (defensive lineman), Matt Georgie (linebacker), Ben Miller (linebacker), Shane Skwarlo (linebacker) and Jaxon Malone (defensive back) all earned honorable mention honors.

For the Lions, Chris McGee (receiver), Eric Galbraeth (defensive line), Cole Mondi (defensive back), Ross Brungardt (punter) and Bryce Tibke (offensive line) were represented on the honorable mention team.

2018 All-Sunflower League teams

Player of the Year: Jax Dineen, Free State

Coach of the Year: Ryan Cornelsen, Gardner Edgerton

First team

Offense: QB Jack Roberts, SM South; RB Jax Dineen, Free State; RB Luke Jennings, Gardner Edgerton; RB Daymonn Sanchez, Olathe North; WR Billy Conaway, Jr., SM North; WR Keenan Garber Free State; WR AJ Shields, Olathe South; TE Gage Gully, Gardner Edgerton; OL Turner Corcoran, Free State; OL Jacob Dice, Olathe North; OL Tre Eaton, Olathe South; OL Dante Smith Posey, SM West; OL Talor Warner, Gardner Edgerton.

Defense: DL Lovette Epelle, Free State; DL Gage Gulley, Gardner Edgerton; DL EJ Jewsome, Lawrence; DL P.J. Spencer, SM East; LB Jax Dineen, Free State; LB Jalen Nash, Free State; LB Darin Robertson, Gardner Edgerton; LB Tyler Stottle, SM East; DB Malik Berry, Free State; DB Kennan Garber, Free State; DB Jai Haynes, Olathe South; DB Davonte Pritchard, Gardner Edgerton.

Special teams: Kicker Parker Willis, SM East; Kick Returner Daymonn Sanchez, Olathe North; Punter Parker Willis, SM East; Punt Returner Keenan Garber, Free State

Second team

Offense: QB Malik Berry, Free State; QB Anderson Maddox, SM East; RB Andrew Dumas, Olathe Northwest; RB Tony Friends, SM East; RB Andrew Nehrbass, Olathe South; WR Trey Echols, SM East; WR Ray Lewis, Olathe East; WR Ty Lindenman, SM Northwest; TE Ivan Avila, Olathe North; OL Andrew Adams, Gardner Edgerton; OL Matt Miller, SM South; OL Dan Scott, SM East; OL Shane Skwarlo, Free State; OL Jake Steward, Gardner Edgerton.

Defense: DL Ashton Andino, SM East; DL Nathan Larsen, Olathe South; DL Matt Martin, Olathe North; DL Peyton Vance, Gardner Edgerton; LB Andrew Dumas, Olathe Northwest; LB Tony Lunson, Olathe South; LB Joseph Mohr, SM East; LB Caleb Mondi, Lawrence; DB Peyton Carder, SM Northwest; DB Hunter Carpenter, SM South; DB Hezekiah Newman, Olathe East; DB Oliver Paranjothi, Free State; DB Devin Stoker, Olathe North.

Special teams: Kicker Will Huggins, SM South; Kick Returner Billy Conaway, Jr., SM North; Punter Conner Boyd, Olathe Northwest; Punt Returner Jai Haynes, Olathe South.


Welcome to the new Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.