Sound Off

How is the committee formed for the St. Patrick’s Day parade that chooses the grand marshal? What’s the criteria for being the grand marshal in the parade?

Roger Browning, chairman of the parade’s committee, said it is a volunteer committee of about 100 people who work throughout the year to prepare for the parade and its fundraising events to benefit Lawrence charities. Browning said the committee members nominate people to serve as the grand marshal. Committee members seek to nominate people who have track records of living and serving in Lawrence or being associated with the city. The committee works to narrow down its list of finalists and also visits with them to see whether they would be willing to participate in the parade. Dan Affalter, a retired Lawrence police captain active with many organizations, was this year’s grand marshal. Past grand marshals include Ford Motor Co. CEO Alan Mulally, who grew up in Lawrence, and Don Fambrough, a former Kansas University football coach.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.