What workers’ compensation benefits are due to the family of someone who is killed on the job?
According to the Kansas Department of Labor, Kansas law requires employers or their insurance carriers to pay weekly benefits to surviving dependents of an employee whose death results from a work-related accident. The weekly benefits are based on two-thirds of the deceased’s gross average weekly wage, up to a maximum of $546. The minimum is paid at 50 percent of the state’s average weekly wage at the time of the accident. Generally, benefits are payable up to $250,000, the department said. Of that total, $40,000 is payable immediately, in a lump sum; all incurred medical and hospital expenses are payable, as well as funeral expenses up to $5,000.