Who voted or decided that students must live within 2.5 miles to ride the school bus?
“The Kansas Legislature set the 2.5-mile standard for state funding for student transportation,” said district communications director Julie Boyle. “KSA 72-8302 states that the state of Kansas provides transportation for students living more than 2.5 miles from the usually traveled route of a school bus from the school attended.” The Lawrence school district implemented a PayRide transportation program several years ago to offer school district-supported discretionary busing to students living within 2.5 miles of their attendance center. This program was supplemented by student fees. The school board eliminated the PayRide program at a savings of $444,000 as part of $2.2 million in budget cuts approved by the board on April 13 and May 26.