Sound Off

How many judges do we have in Douglas County?

Seven judges are in Douglas County District Court. They are Robert Fairchild, Jack Murphy, Jean Shepherd, Michael Malone, Paula Martin, Peggy Kittel and William Lyle. Lyle is temporarily holding the judge position Stephen Six held before he was named Kansas attorney general. Lyle, a retired judge from Reno County, will work in Douglas County until a permanent replacement for Six is selected by Gov. Kathleen Sebelius. Kittel is actually a judge pro tem. Her position was created in 2001 because of the high court caseload but paid for by the county instead of the state.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.