Sound Off

I know that the Republican candidate almost always wins Kansas's electoral votes in the presidential election, but have Kansans ever sent a Democrat to the Senate?

Yes, but it has been a while. In its 143 year history, Kansas has sent 33 senators to Washington, D.C. Three have been Democrats, and two have been from third parties. The rest have been Republicans. Kansas last had a Democratic senator in 1939 when Sen. George McGill's occupied the seat currently held by Sen. Sam Brownback. Since McGill's exit, 11 more Kansas senators have been elected. They have all been Republicans.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.