Sound Off

How many other countries in the world recognize gay marriages?

The Netherlands, Belgium and the Canadian provinces of Ontario and British Columbia allow same-sex marriages. The first legally recognized marriage of a gay couple was in 2001 in the Netherlands.

Other countries have special partnership laws that give gay couples nearly all the rights of matrimony. Among them are Denmark and Greenland, France, Iceland, Sweden, Norway and Portugal. Hungary grants gays many rights under common-law marriage statutes.

In the United States, gay marriage is legal in Massachusetts. Gay civil unions are recognized in Vermont. California, Hawaii, New Jersey and more than 60 local governments have passed laws granting various rights to unmarried, same-sex couples.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.