General Election — April 7, 2009

  • Lawrence City Commission
  • Lawrence School Board
  • Baldwin City Mayor
  • Baldwin City City Council
  • Baldwin City School Board District 1
  • Baldwin City School Board District 2
  • Baldwin City School Board District 3
  • Eudora Mayor
  • Eudora City Council
  • Basehor City Council
  • Basehor-Linwood School Board Position 4
  • Basehor-Linwood School Board Position 5
  • Basehor-Linwood School Board Position 6
  • Basehor mayor
  • Bonner Springs City Council Ward 1
  • Bonner Springs City Council Ward 2
  • Bonner Springs City Council Ward 3
  • Bonner Springs City Council Ward 4
  • Bonner Springs/Edwardsville school board
  • Bonner Springs Mayor
  • De Soto School Board Position 4
  • De Soto School Board Position 5
  • De Soto School Board Position 6
  • Edwardsville City Council
  • Edwardsville mayor
  • Eudora School Board
  • Lecompton City Council
  • Lecompton Mayor
  • Shawnee Heights School Board District A
  • Shawnee Heights School Board District B
  • Shawnee Heights School Board District C
  • Shawnee Mission School Board
  • Tonganoxie City Council
  • Tonganoxie School Board Position 4
  • Tonganoxie School Board Position 5
  • Tonganoxie School Board Position 6
  • USD 289 School Board Position 4
  • USD 289 School Board Position 5
  • USD 289 School Board Position 6
  • USD 343 School Board Position 4
  • USD 343 School Board Position 5

Lawrence City Commission

All precincts reporting / 25,146 total votes / Unofficial results / Precinct breakdown

Completed candidate chats
City and school board election results now official
April 10, 2009
Tuesday’s election results are now official, and the addition of 70 provisional ballots did not change the outcomes of any Douglas County races.
Voter turnout sluggish throughout city
April 8, 2009
After the final tally of election results flashed on the projector screen Tuesday in the Douglas County Courthouse, excitement soon died down when candidates and election watchers saw an ugly number. Voter turnout: 13.9 percent.
KU polling location gets 0.2 percent turnout
April 8, 2009
At one polling place near Kansas University, Tuesday’s turnout was beyond slow. Out of about 2,000 registered voters in the precinct, no one showed up at Burge Union until 11:20 a.m., when Molly DesBaillets walked in the room. The polling place ended up with a 0.2 percent turnout.
Election results unofficial until Friday
April 8, 2009
The election results are not official until the canvassing at 9 a.m. Friday at the Douglas County Courthouse, 1100 Mass. County Commissioners Jim Flory and Nancy Thellman and Treasurer Paula Gilchrist will decide whether to count 77 provisional ballots.
Young sidekick accompanies candidate until victory
April 8, 2009
Emma Johnson — the 8-year-old daughter of city commissioner-elect Lance Johnson — earned the privilege of staying up past her bedtime Tuesday night. Emma was with her father at the courthouse as Johnson waited for the final results. He said it’s fitting that his victory wasn’t assured until votes from the Langston Hughes School polling site were counted.
Langston Hughes precinct reports 22 percent turnout
April 8, 2009
The Langston Hughes precinct results were the final ones election officials counted. Shew said the precinct was the busiest in the county with a 22 percent turnout. Poll workers faced a rush there just before the 7 p.m. closing time, so it took them longer to complete their job.
Amyx, Cromwell and Johnson pick up seats on Lawrence City Commission
April 7, 2009
With perhaps the tightest city budget in recent memory looming, voters selected a familiar face in Tuesday’s Lawrence City Commission election.
Burge Union gets first voter about 11:30 a.m.
April 7, 2009
At one polling place in central Lawrence, turnout for Tuesday’s local elections was beyond a little slow.
Amyx, Cromwell, Lance Johnson will be the next City Commissioners; Bradford, Sanburn, Byers elected to school board
10:29 a.m., April 7, 2009 Updated 09:40 p.m.
Election workers have tallied advance ballots, and they show that incumbent Mike Amyx has a clear lead in the Lawrence City Commission race. In the Lawrence school board race, a tally of nearly all of the advance votes show Lawrence Douglas County Fire and Medical Chief Mark Bradford with a slight lead in the race, and he’s joined in the top three by Kansas University graduate student Vanessa Sanburn and Bob Byers, chairman of the district’s equity council.
Polls open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. today
April 6, 2009
Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday as voters throughout the area decide a host of city and school board races.
Surveys show candidates’ stances on key issues
Election set for Tuesday
April 5, 2009
Come Tuesday evening, it will all be over. Voters will go to the polls on Tuesday to select three people to serve on the Lawrence City Commission. Since late January, eight candidates have been vying for three spots by stumping at forums, neighborhood meetings and on front porch stoops.
Advance voting still available today
April 3, 2009
By the end of Thursday, 294 people had cast in-person advance ballots at the Douglas County Courthouse, and 316 voters have returned mail-in ballots ahead of Tuesday’s city and school board elections, according to the county clerk’s office.
Advance voting numbers remain low
April 2, 2009
Advance voting numbers for Tuesday’s general election have picked up some this week, but they’re still slow, leaving Douglas County election officials pessimistic about voter turnout. At the end of Wednesday, 257 people had cast advance ballots in person at the courthouse, and 290 voters had returned advance ballots by mail, according to the Douglas County Clerk’s Office.
City commission candidates: Downtown is important to city
April 1, 2009
Everybody loves downtown. At a forum Wednesday morning sponsored by Downtown Lawrence Inc., all eight candidates for the Lawrence City Commission gushed about the importance of keeping downtown healthy.
County elections clerk embracing social media to get out the vote
April 1, 2009
It was a short message Douglas County Clerk Jamie Shew posted on Friday through the micro-blogging Web site, Twitter.