Democratic legislators, County Commission candidate win uncontested races; local judges retained

photo by: Journal-World File Photos

From left, Rep. Barbara Ballard, Rep. Eileen Horn and Rep. Dennis “Boog” Highberger are pictured at the Kansas Statehouse in Topeka.

Three incumbent Lawrence Democrats were officially re-elected to the Kansas House Tuesday in unopposed races.

Winning two-year terms were Barbara Ballard, of the 44th District, which includes Lawrence precincts west of Iowa Street to Wakarusa Drive; Eileen Horn, who represents the 10th Kansas House District, which includes southeast Lawrence and southeast Douglas County, including Baldwin City; and Dennis “Boog” Highberger, who represents the 46th District, which includes East Lawrence.

The race for the 1st District Douglas County Commission seat was also uncontested in Tuesday’s general election. Democrat Patrick Kelly, who won a three-way race for his party’s nomination in the August primary, made his victory official Tuesday.

Douglas County voters also chose to retain three Douglas County District Court judges: Sally Pokorny, Amy Hanley and Chief Judge Peggy Kittel. District court judges in Kansas stand for retention every four years.


Welcome to the new Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.